Strawberry Cobbler I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2015
Recipe was great !!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2015
I added some nutmeg to the dough, I am sure some cinnamon would be tasty as well. I omitted the butter on top of the strawberries. Since it was too liquidish I added more cornstarch that I pre-mixed in some water. I used frozen strawberries for this. I think any kind of fruit would be a good replacements ( apples, peaches or blueberries). I doubled the dough just because I wanted to make sure I had enough and I ended up using it all. Served warm with some wipped cream All my family and I loved it !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by XxlilaxX

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Bud crosgrey
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2015
When I add the flour mixture it doesn't seem enough but lo an behold after baking it's just right
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Peterborough, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2015
Excellent - used 1/2 cup water. Used milk instead of cream. Used a mix of strawberries and blueberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2015
I used this recipe mainly for the topping. I have the fruit part down pretty well on my own. I just needed a great crust for my cobblers. The way I had been making them was a little lackluster and reminded me of the "cobbler" you get at a truckstop or a sketchy BBQ shack. This solved my problem. What a fantastic crust. Light, fluffy and rich. The topping soaks up just enough of the juice. Even my 90 year old Southern Grandmother was impressed and asked that I teach her my "secret" and that is saying something! So, JJOHN32, my thanks to you for this lovely crust and my apologies for letting my Grandmother think that I this is my recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2015
I felt the topping was too dry and without enough flavor. I agree with the reviewer who said the topping was too salty, and not sweet enough. I halved the water amount, as suggested by reviews, and I added 2 tbs. lemon juice (with 2 tb. less water) to the cup of water. And the filling turned out fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2014
Great and easy cobbler recipe. I would definitely recommend not using the full amount of water, instead of a cup I would do 1/2 cup (1/4c lemon juice + 1/4c water). Also I used almost 5 cups of strawberries and it was a great amount. The topping is sooo good, added a bit of vanilla but that was it. Sprinkled some sugar on top while it was baking. Everyone loved it , will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by vanillexlove
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2014
This is amazing. I had 2 pints of strawberries starting to go bad so I figured I'd make something. I found this recipe and I have never had nor made strawberry cobbler before (I'm Canadian, and this seems to be a Southern dish.) I followed the reviews and used 1/3 cup of water, 1/2 cup sugar, and 2 tbsp cornstarch in the strawberries and honestly it was still quite liquidy because of how ripe my strawberries were. I used 18% coffee cream in the biscuit portion and upped the sugar to almost 2 tbsp and added 1/2 tsp of vanilla extract. It was so amazing. We topped it with vanilla greek yogurt. Hubby definitely wants this made again!!! Edit: Just made a double batch with canned peaches in addition to the strawberries. Drained the peaches first. Wonderful decision, turned out lovely, however, I ran into the same problem as before where I didn't find the dough quite covered the fruit. It was still a good ratio of dough to fruit but if you want the dough to cover it, I would suggest doubling or 1.5x-ing the dough recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vanillexlove

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2013
This was really good. I didn't have any whipping cream, so I used sour cream instead, and that worked out really well. I will most definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2013
I followed others and decreased the water to 1/2 cup and it still feels like too much. I would also double the topping, I have way too many strawberries and juice for the amount of cobbler topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 162) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Rhubarb Strawberry Crunch

The rhubarb and strawberry dessert is sweet enough and goes great with ice cream.

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

Old Fashioned Peach Cobbler

Nutmeg and cinnamon flavor fresh peaches wrapped in flaky pastry.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States