Strawberry Cinnamon Oatmeal Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
This is a great alternative to other baked breakfast options. My boys couldn't get enough. We went through 2 dozen in a weekend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2013
GREAT way to use up strawberries that are past their prime for eating raw. I played and through trial and error, eventually came up with a lower-cal version that my son and hubby both loved. I use WW flour in place of AP, upped the cinnamon to a full tsp, subbed in 1/8 cup each of stevia/sugar baking blend and Splenda/brown sugar blend for the sugar, and added 1/8 cup each of ground flax seed and wheat germ to the dry ingredients. I subbed a 6 oz container of low-fat yogurt (strawberry or vanilla) for the milk and 2 very ripe bananas (mashed) subbed for the olive oil. Yielded 24 mini-muffins baked at 375 for 15 min, using a dark pan sprayed with Baker's Joy (no muffin papers). I agree with other reviewers that the strawberries need to be chopped very small - I just quarter mine and put them in my food processor - quick and easy! I also recommend using quick oats - I tried rolled oats in my first attempt, and while they were still tasty and hearty, the quick oats are more suitable for a good muffin texture. I have also successfully used honey in place of sugar - just use 1/3 cup, and reduce yogurt to 4 oz - but my taste preference is with the baking blends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2013
Thought this was simple, moist and yummy. I used 1/2 C whole wheat and 1/2 C AP flour, a mixture of blueberries and strawberries, and 1 tsp cinnamon. Great, healthier snack for my one-year-old!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kaylie of Cafe Groenhout

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2013
Yummy Recipe! I added the zest of 1 orange and a bit of ginger to add some flavour oomph, as I love fresh strawberries prepared this way. I also substituted almond meal (almonds ground in the blender) instead of all-purpose flour to go GLUTEN FREE- turned out to be very tasty :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2013
I made changes - 1 heaping teaspoon of cinnamon, heaping half cup of sugar (as suggested by GIA3), used only whole wheat flower, added 1 teaspoon of vanilla extract, and added a little white vinegar to my milk to let it sour. Because I made so many changes, I can only give 4 stars but these are delicious and I will make again with other berries!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2013
One of those sleepless nights where you feel like making muffins, right? Figure if I do the suggested substitutions, these will be awesome, right? Well, no. Even with the tweaks (whole wheat flour, brown sugar, more cinnamon, a splash of vanilla) these were meh. Not bad, but just not very exciting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2012
1/2 pint is 1 cup of strawberries and perhaps 1/4 tsp of salt would be better also i used splenda and whole wheat flour- results were good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2012
Very good recipe! My husband enjoys them every time I make them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2012
As an avid warehouse club shopper I had a surplus of strawberries left over. Not wanting to waste a thing I thought this would be a great recipe to try. The only modification that I made was to use vanilla greek yougurt instead of the oil. I also had on hand strawberry extract and used 1 tsp. of that. I would like to add that I am sure the submitter of the recipe meant well, but I for one, would appreciate some kind of measurement on the strawberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GlynisTM

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Harrison, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2011
I really wish I could rate these higher, I wanted them to be really great. They were kind of bland, I probably won't make them again....I'm not even sure what was missing :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by erin

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Glace Bay, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: Sackville, Nova Scotia, Canada

Displaying results 1-10 (of 86) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon Oatmeal

Make a wonderful warm breakfast of simple apple and cinnamon oatmeal.

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

Strawberry Oatmeal Breakfast Smoothie

See how to make a rich and creamy fruit smoothie with no dairy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States