Strawberry Chocolate Mousse Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2014
This recipe was a big hit! It is sweet, but not too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Bizou
Reviewed: May 18, 2014
I made this for my mother's birthday dinner and it was a hit! I added a twist to this by making only half the quantity of the chocolate mousse filling, which filled the pan half-way, and repeating with white chocolate chips instead of semi-sweet. The only catch was that I had to refrigerate the chocolate layer for a couple hours before I could add the white chocolate layer. But the result was AMAZING!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port-Au-Prince, Ouest, Haiti
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2014
Beautiful, delicious. So easy to make and so clean to serve! Crumbled Oreo cookies work perfectly for the crust. If you're debating whether to make this - you MUST :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2014
This recipe is so easy and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2014
Loved this recipe, easy to make and vey light. The only thing I changed was to soak the strawberries in balsamic and sugar before using them Beautiful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mkiick
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
Wonderful dessert! I flipped my strawberries so they looked like hearts for my parents anniversary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
I have made this several times and it has been a huge hit every time. My brother suggested using mini chocolate chips instead of putting the chocolate in the blender. This worked out wonderfully and so much easier and less messy than bringing the blender into it. In addition, chocolate graham crackers worked great for the crust. Thank you so much for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2013
This came out great! Definitely a dessert for chocolate mousse lovers... like most of the viewers I used oreo cookies without the filling. Kinda felt bad for tossing out a whole pack of filling. Any ideas for substituting it with another cookie crumb base where i dont have to waste the filling? Also i added a layer of marie tea biscuit crumb layer( crushed biscuit in melted butter ) and a layer of strawberries in between the mousse... that just made it sooo much better! My friends tried it and told me that this was the best mouse cake they have ever had in their life! totally worth all the effort of whipping up the mousse from scratch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Noa
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
My husband made this for my birthday. Following is his thoughts. "I was afraid this would be too sweet so I used a 70% semi sweet chocolate.The strawberries I had were a little bit sour as its the beginning of the season. The end result was bitter-sour-sweet. Not as good as I expected it and yet still good and very pretty. Next time I will use sweet strawberries and not as bitter chocolate. There will be a next time. This was my first time making a cake like this and it was surprisingly easy. I was thought it might fall apart when I opened the pan so I lined it with a sheer plastic I bought at the baking shop. That held everything together."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Noa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mallinda
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2012
I wanted to make this for a group with a healthy appetite for desserts, so I did 1-1/2 times the crust and twice the mousse. It filled my springform pan, with a little left over. I decided to gild the lily and piped a little chocolate syrup on the top before piping on the whipped cream and adding the strawberries. I also cut up some additional strawberries and mixed them with sugar for anyone who wanted to put that on their plate too. Everyone loved it and it's very rich. I would suggest adding a little more melted butter to the cookie crumbs since mine didn't hold together as much as I would have liked. I've been wanting to try this for years and I'm glad I finally had the opportunity to try it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mallinda

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norristown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Salem, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 103) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tiramisu Chocolate Mousse

See how to prepare the perfect topper to a romantic dinner.

Chocolate and Raspberry Mousse

See how to make an easy, elegant chocolate and raspberry mousse.

Dark Chocolate Mousse

Make your own homemade chocolate mousse—with a secret surprise.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States