Strawberry Chocolate Mousse Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: May 28, 2007
I used crushed graham crackers for my crust and it does make a beautiful presentation. The taste is great but my mousse ended up a tad grainy so I may use my mixer when adding the chips to the corn syrup - or maybe just try a better chip? I wouldn't mind this being made with even darker chocolate. I also used canned whipped cream for the top. I was just whishing for a moussier mousse - but it was probably something I did wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JodyVTPT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2007
This is AMAZING. Very very easy, maybe 20 minutes MAX. I agree with other reviewers you do not have to have 2 pints of strawberries. I too used oreo cookies with out the filling for the crust. This will absolutely be a favorite recipe of mine from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2007
This is amazing! Light and yummy! I have made it three times in the month since I found the recipe and everyone that I serve it to has asked for the recipe. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2007
Fantastic! Very simple to make. I used crushed oreo cookies w/o the centers for the bottom. Topped with canned whipped cream. Next time I'll put strawberries along the bottom as suggested by another poster, I think that'd taste delicious. Also, I used "whipping cream" instead of "heavy cream" and it worked out just fine - the recipe calls for "heavy whipping cream" and it all worked out fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2007
This was SO good! And SO easy!!! Definitely try this recipe. I made it exactly as written. You do NOT need 2 pints of strawberries... I used less than one pint.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Simsbury, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Bloomington, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2006
This was beautiful, easy & delicious! I followed the recipe exactly & it came out almost perfectly. I used chocolate graham teddy bears (crushed of course) for the crust. I think next time I will bake the crust for a few minutes before filling, to get it more set & not so crumbly. Be sure & leave the "cake" in the fridge until serving time so that it remains good & set. I garnished w/ fresh blueberries & sliced strawberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMVINTAGE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2006
I made this for a birthday party last night. It was loved by all who ate it! Also it was very easy to make, especially on a hot day with no air conditioning. I added a pile of strawberries to the top sitting on top of whipped cream.. really beautiful. Thankyou!! it's recipes like this that make the average baker look like a super-star baker!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2006
This is so pretty. I used plain digestive crumbs instead of chocolate cookie crumbs but otherwise followed the recipe. I did have to make more biscuit base but all the other measurements are perfect. Served it at a barbecue and it was gone very quickly. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: St Austell, Cornwall, England, U.K.
Living In: Plymouth, Devon, England, U.K.
Photo by SWEETTHING111
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2006
MMMM!!!! This cake turned out really well! Hubby doesn't like the cake-y type cakes, so this one was right up his alley. The blend of intense chocolate flavor mixed with fresh strawberries is divine, and I wasn't even that thrilled with the quality of the strawberries I used. It presented nicely with the ring of strawberries around it, and the homemade whipped cream set it off perfectly, not being too sweet, but full of real cream flavor. (Do not use canned...it will only insult this yummy cake!) I would agree with a previous reviewer about not giving it to your children before bedtime...bounce, bounce, bounce....lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SWEETTHING111

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2006
This is amazing!!! I made it just as is the first time and it was so good! Think I'll try adding some raspberries the next time - if you like chocolate, you'll love this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 108) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Tiramisu Chocolate Mousse

See how to prepare the perfect topper to a romantic dinner.

Chocolate and Raspberry Mousse

See how to make an easy, elegant chocolate and raspberry mousse.

Dark Chocolate Mousse

Make your own homemade chocolate mousse—with a secret surprise.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States