Strawberry Chocolate Mousse Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2008
People are still "mmmmmm"ing about this from my Christmas Eve Party!!! It’s super impressive and mouth-watering! I doubled the crust using crushed Oreo Cookies without the fillings. Pre-baked the crust (so it would not get soggy), used high quality chocolate chips and melted them in the same pan as the syrup without heat. I also omitted the strawberries (since they are not in season). Please DO NOT use store bought whipped topping, take the time to make your own it really makes all the difference. Try this simple masterpiece and your guests will think you slaved over it (But it’s really easy). Thanks Eleanor for a superb recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kandiee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2007
So so so good. I have made this 4 times, and it goes FAST! There is no need to change a thing. I did make little mini cakes in muffin cups, and they were easy to remove from the wrapper. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2007
Best dessert I have ever made!!! Very easy and absolutely beautiful. Only changes I made were to use 1 1/2 cups oreo cookie crumbs and 4 1/2 tbles butter for the crust so it would not break up when being cut. I put parchment paper on bottom of pan and that made it easy to slide onto serving plate. YOu must try..will NOT be disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2007
Awesome! I always double the recipe for the crust to make it a little easier to get out, but other than that I follow the recipe exactly and it always comes out wonderfully. Every time I make it for my friends it's devoured very quickly. If you like chocolate covered strawberries, you'll love this dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2007
I served this to some friends and it was a HUGE hit..they thought I bought it from a bakery!! I used a mixture of Nestle semi-sweet chocolate and expensive dark chocolate and I think that gave it a more "gourmet" flavor. I used graham cracker crumbs + a few tablespoons of baking cocoa for my crust and I added a layer of sliced strawberries between the crust and the mousse. I'm excited to make this again using different combinations of flavored chocolate and fruit!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RALWATTAR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2007
A big hit! I used Lite Cool Whip instead of heavy cream and sugar. A lighter version that was awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Amherst, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2007
Too good to be true! It was so delicious and tasty. I've made this recipe 4 times and the results are still amazing. Only problem I had was that sometimes the strawberry chocolate mousse cake would collapse. Not sure why, but it wont stop me from making it :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2007
Yummy and looked great too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2007
Absolutely wonderful! Easy to make and easy to tweak to personal tastes! I recieved a request for a peanut butter version after making this and it was great! I just removed the strawberries and added ground peanuts and used pb morsels instead of chocolate. Hats off to you, Eleanor!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jackson, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2007
I used crushed graham crackers for my crust and it does make a beautiful presentation. The taste is great but my mousse ended up a tad grainy so I may use my mixer when adding the chips to the corn syrup - or maybe just try a better chip? I wouldn't mind this being made with even darker chocolate. I also used canned whipped cream for the top. I was just whishing for a moussier mousse - but it was probably something I did wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JodyVTPT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 107) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Tiramisu Chocolate Mousse

See how to prepare the perfect topper to a romantic dinner.

Chocolate and Raspberry Mousse

See how to make an easy, elegant chocolate and raspberry mousse.

Dark Chocolate Mousse

Make your own homemade chocolate mousse—with a secret surprise.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States