Strawberry Chocolate Mousse Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2009
the picture on here is the cake that made i helped make with my friend kami.and i am making in now with her.haha it is so amazing and anyone who likes chocolate should try this cake i cant wait to eat it again.it is so amazing and yummy.=]
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2009
I made this for a birthday at work. It was very good and got a lot of compliments. I, personally, thought the mousse was slightly on the bitter side and would be better with milk chocolate chips instead of semi-sweet. The strawberries offset this some. I'll try milk chocolate or maybe white chocolate next time. I skipped the blender step as someone recommended and just poured the water/syrup mixture over the choc chips in a bowl - worked out fine. Oh, I also used the brownie crust as another reviewer mentioned. Was fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHANNYHO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Turrell, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Southaven, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2009
This was good. Maybe it's just me (I'm not a chocolate fanatic), but it was just so rich and chocolately. My family loved it, so it's probably just my personal preference for more fruit than chocolate. It was easy to make but looked like it took a long time to put together. I did use a pre-made chocolate cookie pie crust since I don't have a Springform pan. If you decide to go with the pie crust too, you could absolutely cut the chocolate mousse ingredients by half and still have enough. My pie was overflowing with the mousse, and I didn't even use all that the recipe had called for. I couldn't put the lid back on the pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2009
Very easy to make
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Santa Rosa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Insomniac Baker
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2009
I used crushed chocolate graham crackers for the "crust." I did not have a springform pan so I used a circular cake pan. This is very rich, creamy, and chocolatey, but the strawberries balance out the intensity of the chocolate! Yumm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Insomniac Baker

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2009
If you are a person who thinks there's no such thing as too much chocolate, you will probably like this cake. Not having had too many chocolate-mousse-type desserts before, I didn't know exactly what to expect. I found it was very, very rich. Too rich and too chocolate-y for me. That could partially be because I only had 1/2 cup regular chocolate morsels and had to use semi-sweet dark chocolate morsels for the rest. I just thought it was too much of all the same flavor and same consistency in this dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2009
Made this for Valentines Day and instead of using a springform pan I used a mini heart shape pan which made 12. Wow this was good but very sweet, it could be that I used mini chocolate chips but I don't think that it why. There is one step that I would do without though, and that is there really is no need for the blender. All you really need to do is put the chips in a bowl and pour the hot ixture over it to melt. This is how you do it to make a ganache. I wastes alot of chocolate as i couldn't get it all out of the blender. I would make it again but with less chocolate or even maybe try it with white chocolate hmmmm that sounds good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gilly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2008
Great recipe have made several times and love it !!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2008
The mousse is so easy, the pie was great. My husband likes the mousse just by itself in a bowl with a spoon! Yummy and so easy! I have been looking for a good mousse recipee without raw egg! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2008
I discovered this recipe a couple of years ago and have been making it for summer birthdays since. It is incredibly easy, rich and creamy! (a little messy in the preparation -though it could be the cook) Every time I serve it, it lasts approximately 2 minutes - never any leftover (bummer!) I have passed this along to MANY people.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 106) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Tiramisu Chocolate Mousse

See how to prepare the perfect topper to a romantic dinner.

Chocolate and Raspberry Mousse

See how to make an easy, elegant chocolate and raspberry mousse.

Dark Chocolate Mousse

Make your own homemade chocolate mousse—with a secret surprise.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States