Strawberry Chocolate Mousse Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by Mallinda
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2012
I wanted to make this for a group with a healthy appetite for desserts, so I did 1-1/2 times the crust and twice the mousse. It filled my springform pan, with a little left over. I decided to gild the lily and piped a little chocolate syrup on the top before piping on the whipped cream and adding the strawberries. I also cut up some additional strawberries and mixed them with sugar for anyone who wanted to put that on their plate too. Everyone loved it and it's very rich. I would suggest adding a little more melted butter to the cookie crumbs since mine didn't hold together as much as I would have liked. I've been wanting to try this for years and I'm glad I finally had the opportunity to try it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mallinda

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norristown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Salem, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2011
Followed a previous review and used a brownie crust instead of cookie crumbs. This cake has a wonderful flavor, smoothness, and appearance!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by happy baker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Erika
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2011
This was a wonderful summertime dessert and easy to make too. My first time making a chocolate mousse from scratch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erika

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2011
This dessert is scrumptious, easy to make, and looks elegant. I use Oreo cookies for the crust, and coffee instead of water to add depth to the chocolate flavor. Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2010
I made this for Mother's Day and it was a huge hit. This was very easy to make and I will definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2010
This dessert is easy and beautiful, and as much as I love the idea if it we found the appearance to be better than the taste. So, I made again this time with the brownie crust (Hershey's chocolate chunk brownie mix) and milk chocolate chips. The brownie crust is the clear winner, and while the milk chocolate chips did taste better, it's still not right. Like other reviewers stated...it is in fact grainy and lacking in flavor. I will try this again with a different mousse recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2010
Beautiful, Delicious and so easy to make! It was a hit at the party. Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2010
5 stars if you are a chocolate lover and a sweet tooth (and I am both). My husband isn't much of a chocolate lover, and he thought the mousse was a little grainy. But he still encouraged me to make it again. A huge hit with my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Chef4Six
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2009
This turned out really nice! I made this for my husbands birthday! I made a dunkin hines brownie crust on the bottom of the pans (I used one cake box to fill the bottom of 1x 8x8 square pan and one very large round spring-form pan) in order to keep the crust thin nd not to take away from the mousse, but not have it too thick. I used frozen strawberries - as it is not the season for fresh strawberries (and i made this recipe on a whim so didnt have them in the house...) I thought the mouse tasted a bit grainy. I prefer "Polly Welby's Excellent Chocolate Mousse" from this site which is quite similar to this mousse recipe, but less ingredients/less steps. I will make this again - but with the mousse recipe I prefer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef4Six

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monsey, New York, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 104) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tiramisu Chocolate Mousse

See how to prepare the perfect topper to a romantic dinner.

Chocolate and Raspberry Mousse

See how to make an easy, elegant chocolate and raspberry mousse.

Dark Chocolate Mousse

Make your own homemade chocolate mousse—with a secret surprise.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States