Strawberry Chocolate Mousse Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2013
This came out great! Definitely a dessert for chocolate mousse lovers... like most of the viewers I used oreo cookies without the filling. Kinda felt bad for tossing out a whole pack of filling. Any ideas for substituting it with another cookie crumb base where i dont have to waste the filling? Also i added a layer of marie tea biscuit crumb layer( crushed biscuit in melted butter ) and a layer of strawberries in between the mousse... that just made it sooo much better! My friends tried it and told me that this was the best mouse cake they have ever had in their life! totally worth all the effort of whipping up the mousse from scratch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Noa
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
My husband made this for my birthday. Following is his thoughts. "I was afraid this would be too sweet so I used a 70% semi sweet chocolate.The strawberries I had were a little bit sour as its the beginning of the season. The end result was bitter-sour-sweet. Not as good as I expected it and yet still good and very pretty. Next time I will use sweet strawberries and not as bitter chocolate. There will be a next time. This was my first time making a cake like this and it was surprisingly easy. I was thought it might fall apart when I opened the pan so I lined it with a sheer plastic I bought at the baking shop. That held everything together."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Noa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mallinda
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2012
I wanted to make this for a group with a healthy appetite for desserts, so I did 1-1/2 times the crust and twice the mousse. It filled my springform pan, with a little left over. I decided to gild the lily and piped a little chocolate syrup on the top before piping on the whipped cream and adding the strawberries. I also cut up some additional strawberries and mixed them with sugar for anyone who wanted to put that on their plate too. Everyone loved it and it's very rich. I would suggest adding a little more melted butter to the cookie crumbs since mine didn't hold together as much as I would have liked. I've been wanting to try this for years and I'm glad I finally had the opportunity to try it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mallinda

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norristown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Salem, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2011
Followed a previous review and used a brownie crust instead of cookie crumbs. This cake has a wonderful flavor, smoothness, and appearance!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by happy baker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Erika
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2011
This was a wonderful summertime dessert and easy to make too. My first time making a chocolate mousse from scratch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erika

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2011
This dessert is scrumptious, easy to make, and looks elegant. I use Oreo cookies for the crust, and coffee instead of water to add depth to the chocolate flavor. Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2010
I made this for Mother's Day and it was a huge hit. This was very easy to make and I will definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2010
This dessert is easy and beautiful, and as much as I love the idea if it we found the appearance to be better than the taste. So, I made again this time with the brownie crust (Hershey's chocolate chunk brownie mix) and milk chocolate chips. The brownie crust is the clear winner, and while the milk chocolate chips did taste better, it's still not right. Like other reviewers stated...it is in fact grainy and lacking in flavor. I will try this again with a different mousse recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2010
Beautiful, Delicious and so easy to make! It was a hit at the party. Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 106) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tiramisu Chocolate Mousse

See how to prepare the perfect topper to a romantic dinner.

Chocolate and Raspberry Mousse

See how to make an easy, elegant chocolate and raspberry mousse.

Dark Chocolate Mousse

Make your own homemade chocolate mousse—with a secret surprise.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States