Strawberry Chocolate Mousse Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2005
I feel guilty writing a review, because I cheated on the recipe so much that what I came out with was a completely different recipe. But the inspiration and the results I got were such a success! I made a graham cracker crust with 1 1/2 cups (or 1 individual package of whole crackers) graham cracker crumbs, 1/3 cup powdered sugar, and 1/3 cup melted butter, mixed and pressed flat into a 9 inch springform. Did the strawberries as directed, being careful to cut the bottoms at a slight angle to they pressed flat againt the pan sides. Then (forgive me Eleanor) I am so lazy that I just used two boxes of packaged mousse mix instead of making my own. It pulled away from the sides of the pan perfectly, and was georgeous! Got tons of oohs and aahs. It was light and cool and perfect. Later I did it with fresh raspberries, which I think might be even better. Thank you so much for such a wonderful and impressive dessert idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lakeside, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2007
Best dessert I have ever made!!! Very easy and absolutely beautiful. Only changes I made were to use 1 1/2 cups oreo cookie crumbs and 4 1/2 tbles butter for the crust so it would not break up when being cut. I put parchment paper on bottom of pan and that made it easy to slide onto serving plate. YOu must try..will NOT be disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MOMFLOYD
Reviewed: May 22, 2008
I ended up baking a brownie mix in a 9X13 pan, layering strawberries on top of the brownies. I melted the chocolate chips on the stove with the corn syrup and water and used 2 cartons of cool whip. It was divine. I am not sure I will ever try it with cookie crumbs as this got soooo many compliments and I liked the brownie "crust". Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tipp City, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2007
I served this to some friends and it was a HUGE hit..they thought I bought it from a bakery!! I used a mixture of Nestle semi-sweet chocolate and expensive dark chocolate and I think that gave it a more "gourmet" flavor. I used graham cracker crumbs + a few tablespoons of baking cocoa for my crust and I added a layer of sliced strawberries between the crust and the mousse. I'm excited to make this again using different combinations of flavored chocolate and fruit!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RALWATTAR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2000
Really yummy,but really rich. Make sure chocolate is completely cooled before adding to cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Amber
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2006
This is a very impressive looking dessert that is *very* easy to do. I am never able to find chocolate cookie crumbs in the baking aisle. I use Oreo cookies, remove the filling and put them in a plastic bag and use a rolling pin to smash them (great job for a kid) or put them in the food processor. The chocolate crust is well worth the effort. I didn't make any changes in the ingredients but to save a step I added the chocolate chips to the warm corn syrup mixture and stirred until smooth instead of running it through the blender. It came out perfectly. I made it for my father-in-law's birthday and everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2006
This was beautiful, easy & delicious! I followed the recipe exactly & it came out almost perfectly. I used chocolate graham teddy bears (crushed of course) for the crust. I think next time I will bake the crust for a few minutes before filling, to get it more set & not so crumbly. Be sure & leave the "cake" in the fridge until serving time so that it remains good & set. I garnished w/ fresh blueberries & sliced strawberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMVINTAGE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Eia
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2005
this is one great recipe. not only is it super easy to make (i was able to make it at the same time i was taking care of my 3 month old!) it also turned out wonderfully delicious! very rich and dark, however you want it. i made an actual cake as the base and used the mousse on top, with the strawberries. i also used a square shaped springform pan and it looked uniquely beautiful! thanks for submitting this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eia

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Panama City, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Chef4Six
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2009
This turned out really nice! I made this for my husbands birthday! I made a dunkin hines brownie crust on the bottom of the pans (I used one cake box to fill the bottom of 1x 8x8 square pan and one very large round spring-form pan) in order to keep the crust thin nd not to take away from the mousse, but not have it too thick. I used frozen strawberries - as it is not the season for fresh strawberries (and i made this recipe on a whim so didnt have them in the house...) I thought the mouse tasted a bit grainy. I prefer "Polly Welby's Excellent Chocolate Mousse" from this site which is quite similar to this mousse recipe, but less ingredients/less steps. I will make this again - but with the mousse recipe I prefer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef4Six

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monsey, New York, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2005
This was just a wonderful dessert. So easy, yet looked like I slaved for hours over it. The only problem was that it was so good, my family didn't leave me any leftovers! Thanks for this fantastic recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DELTAQUEEN50

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 109) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Tiramisu Chocolate Mousse

See how to prepare the perfect topper to a romantic dinner.

Chocolate and Raspberry Mousse

See how to make an easy, elegant chocolate and raspberry mousse.

Dark Chocolate Mousse

Make your own homemade chocolate mousse—with a secret surprise.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States