Strawberry Chocolate Mousse Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2005
This is excellent. I followed the recipe exactly. It is very rich and sooo good. Definitely for true chocolate lovers only. Very easy but appears impressive. Thank you so much for the recipe Eleanor. This is one I will be making over and over again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2005
I did alter this recipe by preparing a prepackaged milk choc. mousse mix and coolwhip. I defrosted frozen strawberries also. I found the crust to be barely enough to cover the bottom of my 9" springform pan and certainly not enough to have any thickness to it. When the pie was made it was very hard to get a slice off the base. In fact, I ended up having to keep this on the base. Attemps at moving it were futile since the filling is so soft and the crust is so fragile. It's like trying to balance jello. Also I was not able to find a temperature to store this at that would have the filling and whipped topping firm enough yet the berries not frozen at. The only good thing I can say about it is that it's a good combination of flavors but I know there are many easier ways of combining choc. and strawberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2005
i thought this was ok.it just tasted like chocolate chips.it wasnt really what i was looking for.didnt taste like mousse,but it did look pretty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2005
I feel guilty writing a review, because I cheated on the recipe so much that what I came out with was a completely different recipe. But the inspiration and the results I got were such a success! I made a graham cracker crust with 1 1/2 cups (or 1 individual package of whole crackers) graham cracker crumbs, 1/3 cup powdered sugar, and 1/3 cup melted butter, mixed and pressed flat into a 9 inch springform. Did the strawberries as directed, being careful to cut the bottoms at a slight angle to they pressed flat againt the pan sides. Then (forgive me Eleanor) I am so lazy that I just used two boxes of packaged mousse mix instead of making my own. It pulled away from the sides of the pan perfectly, and was georgeous! Got tons of oohs and aahs. It was light and cool and perfect. Later I did it with fresh raspberries, which I think might be even better. Thank you so much for such a wonderful and impressive dessert idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lakeside, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2005
This is great! Very impressive but not at all hard to do. Not too sweet - just very rich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2005
Awesome dessert and easy, too!! Made this just for me & my husband, so halved the recipe & used a smaller clear glass dish- looked great! I used my blender for the whipping cream as well to save on dishes- worked great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2005
I have made this dessert many times & have always been asked what bakery I bought it from! Don't let it intimidate you! There are several steps BUT it's easy.Here are a few tips. I take 15 or so oreo cookies, scrape off the filling & use that for the crust.When I slice the strawberries I too cut the tops flat. It helps them to stay put. Mine has never come out grainy as others have said; I use a bag of Nestle's semisweet chips & its always smooth & creamy!Thanks for sharing this recipe! It's the bomb!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Carlsbad, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2005
This is very good. I made it because I had strawberries that needed to be used up and it was so easy! Plus it looks fantastic. I'm making it this weekend for a dessert party and I'm sure it will be a huge hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HISTORYGIRL04

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: La Mesa, California, USA
Living In: Lakeside, California, USA
Reviewed: May 9, 2005
This was just a wonderful dessert. So easy, yet looked like I slaved for hours over it. The only problem was that it was so good, my family didn't leave me any leftovers! Thanks for this fantastic recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DELTAQUEEN50

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Eia
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2005
this is one great recipe. not only is it super easy to make (i was able to make it at the same time i was taking care of my 3 month old!) it also turned out wonderfully delicious! very rich and dark, however you want it. i made an actual cake as the base and used the mousse on top, with the strawberries. i also used a square shaped springform pan and it looked uniquely beautiful! thanks for submitting this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eia

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Panama City, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 106) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tiramisu Chocolate Mousse

See how to prepare the perfect topper to a romantic dinner.

Chocolate and Raspberry Mousse

See how to make an easy, elegant chocolate and raspberry mousse.

Dark Chocolate Mousse

Make your own homemade chocolate mousse—with a secret surprise.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States