Strawberry Chocolate Mousse Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2008
I discovered this recipe a couple of years ago and have been making it for summer birthdays since. It is incredibly easy, rich and creamy! (a little messy in the preparation -though it could be the cook) Every time I serve it, it lasts approximately 2 minutes - never any leftover (bummer!) I have passed this along to MANY people.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2008
When Cyndi Marker my co-worker made this for me on my Birthday I can honestly say it was the best gift I received in a long time. Fresh, rich with a natural taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2008
I made this recipe for guests. All five guests did not like this recipe. The reasons were that the recipe was too rich, dry, and was not creamy like a mousse should be. I wanted to make an impression with my dessert, but, instead, the majority of the dessert remained on their plate. I want to be honest because I pick and choose my recipes by the ratings. I noticed this recipe has many good ratings. I followed the recipe exactly as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2008
I want to rate this recipe as a 5 because of the simplicity and the the taste and presentation were awesome but we could not get past the grainy texture. What did I do wrong, as not many reviews acknowledge the weird texture so I am sure I errored some how.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MOMFLOYD
Reviewed: May 22, 2008
I ended up baking a brownie mix in a 9X13 pan, layering strawberries on top of the brownies. I melted the chocolate chips on the stove with the corn syrup and water and used 2 cartons of cool whip. It was divine. I am not sure I will ever try it with cookie crumbs as this got soooo many compliments and I liked the brownie "crust". Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tipp City, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2008
Impressive! Everyone raved about this cake. The taste is so rich and it really does make for a beautiful presentation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sunflower

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2008
If you love chocolate, this is a MUST recipe. It is rich, creamy, and decadent. I have made it with and without the strawberries. Personally, I like it better with them. I think I will try a mix of strawberries and raspberries next time. Yum! This is very easy. The amout if whipping cream needed makes it a bit more pricey than some other dessert recipes, but to me, totally worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Duane
Reviewed: May 3, 2008
I have made this recipe on several occasions. It is very easy to make. I have also made a white chocolate variation. However you need to add some gelation to get the chocolate to set.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Duane

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2008
I haven't read any of the other reviews for this one. I made this for an office gathering and got no less than 5 marriage proposals. I thought the crust was a bit thin. I will use 1.5 to 2 cups of oreos next time. It was truly fabulous and easy. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: La Crosse, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Gainesville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2008
This is a beautiful cake to look at but I found the chocolate flavour sort of bitter. Maybe a mixture of half semisweet and half milk chocolate chips would have a better result? Everything else was fine though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 107) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Tiramisu Chocolate Mousse

See how to prepare the perfect topper to a romantic dinner.

Chocolate and Raspberry Mousse

See how to make an easy, elegant chocolate and raspberry mousse.

Dark Chocolate Mousse

Make your own homemade chocolate mousse—with a secret surprise.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States