Strawberry Chocolate Mousse Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2009
I've made this recipe with both raspberries and strawberries, both are equally delicious! It's an easy, elegant dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ali

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Logan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2009
I made this for my book club. It was a big hit. This is a beautiful dessert that is nearly effortless to make. Big bang for you buck you will hear lots of "Wow! You must have spent all day on this." I usually make this the day before I serve it because it does take time to set. I've made this twice. Once with the cookie crust and once with a brownie crust. It was awesome both ways. I'm thinking of trying this with peanut butter chips and maybe a nutter-butter crust for a peanut butter version of the same dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacy Gillis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2009
Followed instructions exactly using chopped gourmet dark chocolate in place of the chips, and this turned out fantastic! Delicious and rich, something you would expect from an upscale restaurant or much more complicated recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gardner, Kansas, USA
Living In: Gilbert, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2009
Simple, delicious, yet impressive dessert. Everyone loved it. Definitely will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2009
I slightly increased the measurements as I only have a 10 inch spring form pan, but this was very good. Everyone enjoyed it, it had a very rich texture and flavout. Definitely will make this again. I want to try it with white chocolate and raspberries....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kitty

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2009
I've made this cake twice now, both times using a brownie crust. The first time I substituted milk chocolate chips. The second time I used the semi sweet. Both cakes were equally delicious! This cake is easy and impressive. But, due to the short shelf life of strawberries should definitely be enjoyed in a day or two for best quality.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kate

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2009
i used mini chocolate chips and it melted really well. i did bake the crust at 350 degrees for 7 minutes and that was perfect. very easy to make and looked great. but the mousse texture was really strange - my husband said it was gritty-like. i thought it was a starchy texture or something - hard to describe. and the topping didnt have a whole lot of taste, but yet i think it's needed for the cake just to even out the mousse.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2009
the picture on here is the cake that made i helped make with my friend kami.and i am making in now with her.haha it is so amazing and anyone who likes chocolate should try this cake i cant wait to eat it again.it is so amazing and yummy.=]
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2009
I made this for a birthday at work. It was very good and got a lot of compliments. I, personally, thought the mousse was slightly on the bitter side and would be better with milk chocolate chips instead of semi-sweet. The strawberries offset this some. I'll try milk chocolate or maybe white chocolate next time. I skipped the blender step as someone recommended and just poured the water/syrup mixture over the choc chips in a bowl - worked out fine. Oh, I also used the brownie crust as another reviewer mentioned. Was fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHANNYHO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Turrell, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Southaven, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2009
This was good. Maybe it's just me (I'm not a chocolate fanatic), but it was just so rich and chocolately. My family loved it, so it's probably just my personal preference for more fruit than chocolate. It was easy to make but looked like it took a long time to put together. I did use a pre-made chocolate cookie pie crust since I don't have a Springform pan. If you decide to go with the pie crust too, you could absolutely cut the chocolate mousse ingredients by half and still have enough. My pie was overflowing with the mousse, and I didn't even use all that the recipe had called for. I couldn't put the lid back on the pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 103) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tiramisu Chocolate Mousse

See how to prepare the perfect topper to a romantic dinner.

Chocolate and Raspberry Mousse

See how to make an easy, elegant chocolate and raspberry mousse.

Dark Chocolate Mousse

Make your own homemade chocolate mousse—with a secret surprise.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States