Strawberry Chocolate Mousse Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2010
5 stars if you are a chocolate lover and a sweet tooth (and I am both). My husband isn't much of a chocolate lover, and he thought the mousse was a little grainy. But he still encouraged me to make it again. A huge hit with my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Chef4Six
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2009
This turned out really nice! I made this for my husbands birthday! I made a dunkin hines brownie crust on the bottom of the pans (I used one cake box to fill the bottom of 1x 8x8 square pan and one very large round spring-form pan) in order to keep the crust thin nd not to take away from the mousse, but not have it too thick. I used frozen strawberries - as it is not the season for fresh strawberries (and i made this recipe on a whim so didnt have them in the house...) I thought the mouse tasted a bit grainy. I prefer "Polly Welby's Excellent Chocolate Mousse" from this site which is quite similar to this mousse recipe, but less ingredients/less steps. I will make this again - but with the mousse recipe I prefer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef4Six

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monsey, New York, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2009
I made this cake for valentines day a year or two back and everyone who had the fortune to get a peice asks for me to make it for every occasion. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2009
I've made this recipe with both raspberries and strawberries, both are equally delicious! It's an easy, elegant dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ali

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Logan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2009
I made this for my book club. It was a big hit. This is a beautiful dessert that is nearly effortless to make. Big bang for you buck you will hear lots of "Wow! You must have spent all day on this." I usually make this the day before I serve it because it does take time to set. I've made this twice. Once with the cookie crust and once with a brownie crust. It was awesome both ways. I'm thinking of trying this with peanut butter chips and maybe a nutter-butter crust for a peanut butter version of the same dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacy Gillis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2009
Followed instructions exactly using chopped gourmet dark chocolate in place of the chips, and this turned out fantastic! Delicious and rich, something you would expect from an upscale restaurant or much more complicated recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gardner, Kansas, USA
Living In: Gilbert, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2009
Simple, delicious, yet impressive dessert. Everyone loved it. Definitely will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2009
I slightly increased the measurements as I only have a 10 inch spring form pan, but this was very good. Everyone enjoyed it, it had a very rich texture and flavout. Definitely will make this again. I want to try it with white chocolate and raspberries....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kitty

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2009
I've made this cake twice now, both times using a brownie crust. The first time I substituted milk chocolate chips. The second time I used the semi sweet. Both cakes were equally delicious! This cake is easy and impressive. But, due to the short shelf life of strawberries should definitely be enjoyed in a day or two for best quality.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kate

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2009
i used mini chocolate chips and it melted really well. i did bake the crust at 350 degrees for 7 minutes and that was perfect. very easy to make and looked great. but the mousse texture was really strange - my husband said it was gritty-like. i thought it was a starchy texture or something - hard to describe. and the topping didnt have a whole lot of taste, but yet i think it's needed for the cake just to even out the mousse.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 106) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Tiramisu Chocolate Mousse

See how to prepare the perfect topper to a romantic dinner.

Chocolate and Raspberry Mousse

See how to make an easy, elegant chocolate and raspberry mousse.

Dark Chocolate Mousse

Make your own homemade chocolate mousse—with a secret surprise.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States