Strawberry Chocolate Mousse Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 19, 2010
This dessert is easy and beautiful, and as much as I love the idea if it we found the appearance to be better than the taste. So, I made again this time with the brownie crust (Hershey's chocolate chunk brownie mix) and milk chocolate chips. The brownie crust is the clear winner, and while the milk chocolate chips did taste better, it's still not right. Like other reviewers stated...it is in fact grainy and lacking in flavor. I will try this again with a different mousse recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2010
Beautiful, Delicious and so easy to make! It was a hit at the party. Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2010
5 stars if you are a chocolate lover and a sweet tooth (and I am both). My husband isn't much of a chocolate lover, and he thought the mousse was a little grainy. But he still encouraged me to make it again. A huge hit with my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Chef4Six
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2009
This turned out really nice! I made this for my husbands birthday! I made a dunkin hines brownie crust on the bottom of the pans (I used one cake box to fill the bottom of 1x 8x8 square pan and one very large round spring-form pan) in order to keep the crust thin nd not to take away from the mousse, but not have it too thick. I used frozen strawberries - as it is not the season for fresh strawberries (and i made this recipe on a whim so didnt have them in the house...) I thought the mouse tasted a bit grainy. I prefer "Polly Welby's Excellent Chocolate Mousse" from this site which is quite similar to this mousse recipe, but less ingredients/less steps. I will make this again - but with the mousse recipe I prefer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef4Six

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monsey, New York, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2009
I made this cake for valentines day a year or two back and everyone who had the fortune to get a peice asks for me to make it for every occasion. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2009
I've made this recipe with both raspberries and strawberries, both are equally delicious! It's an easy, elegant dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ali

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Logan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2009
I made this for my book club. It was a big hit. This is a beautiful dessert that is nearly effortless to make. Big bang for you buck you will hear lots of "Wow! You must have spent all day on this." I usually make this the day before I serve it because it does take time to set. I've made this twice. Once with the cookie crust and once with a brownie crust. It was awesome both ways. I'm thinking of trying this with peanut butter chips and maybe a nutter-butter crust for a peanut butter version of the same dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by abitbookish

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2009
Followed instructions exactly using chopped gourmet dark chocolate in place of the chips, and this turned out fantastic! Delicious and rich, something you would expect from an upscale restaurant or much more complicated recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gardner, Kansas, USA
Living In: Gilbert, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2009
Simple, delicious, yet impressive dessert. Everyone loved it. Definitely will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2009
I slightly increased the measurements as I only have a 10 inch spring form pan, but this was very good. Everyone enjoyed it, it had a very rich texture and flavout. Definitely will make this again. I want to try it with white chocolate and raspberries....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kitty

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 98) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Tiramisu Chocolate Mousse

See how to prepare the perfect topper to a romantic dinner.

Chocolate and Raspberry Mousse

See how to make an easy, elegant chocolate and raspberry mousse.

Dark Chocolate Mousse

Make your own homemade chocolate mousse—with a secret surprise.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States