Strawberry Chantilly Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2014
This is a great dish. I really enjoyed it as did my guests. However, the recipe itself is confusing. I used the brown sugar for the crust and the white sugar for the filling. Also, I melted the butter before mixing it in. It would have been odd to me to have chunks of non melted butter in my crust on bottom and on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2014
I made this recipe for our Father's Day lunch and everyone loved it! The only changes I made to the recipe were to halve the amount of sugar in the strawberry mixture from 1 cup to 1/2 cup and I doubled the ingredients for the crust as I had read in a previous review. I thought it could be a little less sweet still (I tend to be more sensitive to sugar than most) however, everyone else said it had just the right amount of sweetness. I placed the pie in the refrigerator overnight, instead of the freezer as suggested, and noticed the strawberry part was a little soft. I then put it in the freezer for another 2 1/2 hours before we left the house and noticed it firmed up a bit. However, the crust was especially hard to break into and most servings were scooped out without the bottom crust. Next time I'll use the amount of crust that's suggested rather than double it because maybe that's why it was hard to break. It was nice to have more crumbly bits on top, though, which I baked separately so the butter wouldn't still be raw. As others have said, it was light, refreshing and quite pretty to look at. I, too, was afraid that the mixer bowl wasn't big enough to hold all of the strawberry mixture (and bits of it flew out from time to time) while it was running for 10 minutes but it did work out perfectly. I am definitely making this recipe again! Thanks, v monte!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cherry Hill, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2013
My family raved about this dessert! So easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2012
Awesome! I'd never made this sort of dessert before and was curious about beating the mixture 10 minutes but after ten minutes it became clear. (Nice, stiff mixture) As suggested by another reviewer, I also let the crust cool before adding the filling. Oh, yea, I didn't have nuts left after making Zucchini Bread so I left them out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Kennewick, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pinkskull1013
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2012
AMAZING made it like 1000000 billion times this summer ... but only liked it with fresh strawberried cause the ones we froze just didn't have the same strawberry flavour that the fresh ones had
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pinkskull1013

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kincardine, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
I was a little worried about when to put the cream mix onto the crust since it was hot out of the oven and the directions don't tell you a lot, so I cooled the crust in the freezer and then topped it with the fluffy stuff. It was really easy and so yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Seelymo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vancouver, Washington, USA
Living In: Springfield, Missouri, USA
Photo by LaVMonFos
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2011
This recipe was so easy and had a great strawberry taste. My friends and family loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LaVMonFos

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2011
I made this twice, once I put it in the freezer like the recipe calls for and it came out rock solid. I was unable to cut the crust! And another time I put it in the fridge, it was very light and fluffy but not very solid. what am i doing wrong? It didn't look like the picture at all! Despite this, it still tasted GREAT and I will be attempting it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2011
Tastes a bit like ice cream. I didn't think it was very sweet at all since it's so light and not decadent. I've never tasted a strawberry chantilly before.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2011
I didn't have heavy cream either, so I used Cool Whip, too. Came out great! Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Buttermilk Strawberry Shortcake

See how to make strawberry shortcake with airy buttermilk biscuits.

Chef John’s Strawberry Ice Cream

Just in time for summer! See how to make quick, simple strawberry ice cream.

Fresh Strawberry Granita

Turn fresh strawberries into an impressive and simple frozen dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States