Strawberry Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by msclaus24.7
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2013
Delicious! Made it for my daughter's bday, was as delicious and messy as everyone claimed. :) I used dried egg whites as one reader suggested as I was also leary of using uncooked egg whites. I used a dash of cream of tartar suggested by another reader although I'm not sure if did much (but worth a try). I can see that this cake would not be transportable. I made the layers the night before and frosted a few hours ahead of serving. Instead of toothpicks (which could get lost in the cake) I used 3 bbq skewers to hold it together in the fridge and that also helped keeping the plastic film off of the cake. I removed the skewers just before adding bday candles. If you don't mind a cake that is messy and not prone to stand tall once cut, do try this one because there was nothing left afterward.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2012
Best with 'local' berries. Serve chilled. Separates if stored - Can be remixed by hand. My family has used the strawberry whip for more years than I’ve been alive (on SS&Medicare). I use it for shortcake. Truely a early summer favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2012
Pretty good, though I wouldn't say spectacular. Used a "confetti" cake mix for my granddaughter and made the frosting/filling as written. I didn't feel it was too sweet at all. In fact even though my strawberries were very ripe & sweet on their own their flavor just didn't come through in the filling. I coursely chopped some to place in between the layers (made a 2-layer cake) & that was the best part. I had no problem with the frosting, I could not believe that 1 egg white created that much, and I added 1/8 tsp. cream of tartar. IF I decide to make this again I will follow the recipe in regards to making it a 4-layer cake & definitely place some sweetened strawberries between each layer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BudsGurls

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
This cake was awesome. It tasted delicious and the whole thing was gone in no time. I made it for my daughter's 8th birthday and she loved it. Even though I used toothpicks to hold the cake together it slipped apart anyway. I just took the cake from the counter to table and it turned into a mess. But no one cared. We ate it up in no time. It may have been because I used frozen strawberries instead of fresh due to having to make the cake in December when fresh strawberries are hard to find. But this is definitely a repeat recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2011
Incredible frosting! So easy and simple and SO delicious! It was a hit with everyone in my family and I can't wait to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ABAADER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2010
I had trouble with the frosting. I have a really cheap blender and used frozen strawberries. I'm not sure if the problem was the frozen strawberries or the cheap blender, but after 40 min of blending the frosting I decided it was as thick as it was going to get. The frosting oozed out from between the layers of cake and the strawberries on top slid down the sides. My boyfriend said regardless of the mess the cake was delicious. Next time I think I'll let the frosting set before putting the second layer on and before placing the strawberries on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2010
I am only rating the icing/topping. I used a different cake recipe. Just like everyone else said, I really could have eaten the whole bowl with a spoon. It was fantastic!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by liv_nikole

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2010
I made just the frosting. It was Perfect! Great Flavor and texture and a pretty shade of pink. Will use this one again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by abapplez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annandale, Virginia, USA
Living In: Spotsylvania, Virginia, USA
Photo by FlourGirl
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2009
I made this for my sister's birthday and it turned out awesome!! Just dont mix the filling (heavy whipping cream) for too long or it turns bad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2008
There are a few things you can do that will help with the runny icing situation. It is basically a meringue icing, so you will want to add about 1/4 teaspoon cream of tartar, and 2 egg whites instead of one. The other big thing is to add about 1/2 cup of the sugar to the cup of strawberries and let them sit about 20-30 minutes to drain off most of the water. If you're going to put slices on top of the icing, you should drain them this way, as well. Getting rid of the water will help the icing last longer, as will the cream of tartar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey Day Recipes
Top Turkey Day Recipes

So many classic recipes to please your pilgrims.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Strawberry Cake from Scratch

This impressive cake is rich with the flavor of real strawberries.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Buttermilk Strawberry Shortcake

See how to make strawberry shortcake with airy buttermilk biscuits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States