Strawberry Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2009
I made this for my mother-in-laws birthday and it was a huge hit. Followed the recipe exactly except put fresh sliced strawberries in between layers and used the whipped cream cheese frosting recipe from this site. This is now THE birthday cake from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Chesterfield, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Chesterfield, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2009
I have made this several times and everyone loves it! Make sure you are using unsweetened frozen strawberries. I have a feeling the way too sweet reviewers are using sweetened ones. I do not use the frosting with this recipe either. I use a cream cheese frosting from the BC cookbook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
This was delicious made exactly as specified. Yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2008
EXCELLENT CAKE. I made a few adjustments, used strawberry cake mix for example. Very good. I had to use smart balance spread because I ran out of butter and it was still great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2008
I put the whole bag of strawberries in the blender and then put the whole mixture into the cake. I used the cool whipped frosting on the site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2008
I made this cake for my child's first birthday party. There was enough for 2 nine inch round cake pans and 1 square cake pan. I made the round cake, adding fresh strawberry slices in between layers, and used the rest to make a square cake that I cut in the shape of the number one. Wonderful!!! Iced with the cream cheese icing (with melted white chocolate chips) from this site and couldn't stop eating it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2008
This is the most amazing cake I've ever tried. I used the Cream Cheese Frosting II from this site instead of the one that came with the recipe. I didn't remove the seeds for the batter, and nobody could tell there were seeds in the cake. I also took somebody's advice and added sliced strawberries between each layer. FANFREAKINTASTIC!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2008
This is unbelievable! I made this recipe into cupcakes, and used the cream cheese icing recipe from this site for the topping. I took the remaining strawberries, which I pureed, and mixed it in the cream cheese icing. I used a regular sized cupcake pan and the regular sized cupcake baking cups. This is absolutely delicious, and tastes VERY similar to the most popular cupcake sold at a local cupcake store in my town. Will make this again and again. Thank you!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jess H.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2008
I make this cake all the time! I make a cream cheese frosting to go with it and garnish with fresh strawberries. It always disappears
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2008
Yum. Even better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Bellevue, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 225) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Strawberry Cake from Scratch

This impressive cake is rich with the flavor of real strawberries.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Tiramisu Layer Cake

This rich, coffee-flavored classic is surprisingly easy to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States