Strawberry Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2010
PERFECT STRAWBERRY CAKE!!! Put the strawberries thru the Ninja and they make beautiful muffin size cupcakes!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by yummers
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2010
I made this for my hubby's b-day and everyone loved it! Next time I would just thicken the frosting. I added a little lemon juice to the frosting to give it a little zing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by yummers

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MAMALEIGH
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2010
Goodbye, strawberry cake mix! I followed the recipe very closely, but I added 1/4 cup flour instead of 3 tablespoons. I used 3 cake pans as directed, and all three were filled to the top after baking. So, three pans is a must. I don't thinK I'd try to get away with using two pans. For the frosting, I used a half cup of shortening, one stick of softened butter, 1/2 cup of pureed strawberries, a 2-pound bag of powdered sugar, 1 or 2 teaspoons of vanilla (to taste) and a teaspoon of butter flavoring. I creamed the butter, shortenng, flavorings, andberries in my stand mixer, slowly added the sugar, and left it on high speed for about 10 minutes. The result was a light strawberry buttercream frosting that was easy to spread, but not to thin. I'll keep this recipe in mind for the next time someone requests a strawbrry cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAMALEIGH

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2010
This was wonderful! I actually blended the strawberries in the blender with water, then mixed everything together. I also made cupcakes instead. Recipe made about 36 cupcakes. Bake at 325 for about 18 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by K

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2010
I LOVE this cake but like the others, the frosting just has the runs. I even altered by adding more powdered sugar but that only helped a little. I love the taste of the frosting but it doesn't tranport well. I hate that I may have to use something thicker like a cream cheese based frosting. While the latter is good, it's just different. Also, I don't feel comfortable leaving the cake out of the fridge for long as I use fresh stawbs. Maybe this isn't a good bake-sale selection. Still, I will be devouring it during strawberry season.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2010
I just made this using a chocolate cake mix as the base. Heavenly!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2010
This was veryyyyy good! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hammond, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Plaquemine, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2010
LOVE this cake. Very Easy and always gets rave reviews! I use fresh strawberries and a cream cheese frosting... Nothing Better!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dix Hills, New York, USA
Living In: Apex, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2010
This was pretty good. I only had a freezer bag of strawberries so I wasn't sure how much it was. I only added about 3 tbsp of olive oil and baked the cake in a 9x13 inch pan for about 50 minutes. It was nice and moist and had a good flavour. Oh and I used strawberry-kiwi jello. I left it un-iced and served it with cool whip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kate

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Athens, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
Awesome cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 225) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Strawberry Cake from Scratch

This impressive cake is rich with the flavor of real strawberries.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Tiramisu Layer Cake

This rich, coffee-flavored classic is surprisingly easy to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States