Strawberry Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2011
Followed the directions exactly. The cake was cooked through, but sunk immediately after taking them out of the oven. The texture was funky, maybe because of the jello? Would very much not recommend this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michele

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2011
Good, but not as great as I expected from all the reviews. I followed the directions exactly--although used a different frosting (seven minute frosting). I wonder if the cake really needs 4 eggs and 1 cup of oil as well--seemed a bit excessive. Still, it came out of the pan easily for decorating. Not sure I'd make it again though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2011
Absolutely wonderful. I found it nice and light with a rich, but not too rich strawberry flavor. I can not wait till next strawberry season to make this again. However next time I will definitely add more strawberries into the batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
This cake actually deserves 5 stars, but I gave it 3 because the frosting was way too runny, the butter didn't even completely mix into the frosting (I mixed and mixed for at least 20 minutes). I even added the whole (1lb) box of confectioner's sugar and a little cream cheese to try to get a frosting type consistencty, but it did not work. I will definately make the cake again, but will skip the frosting next time and maybe use a regular cream cheese frosting instead...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2011
perfect. I did puree the berries simply per preference. I also used a different frosting "whipped cream cheese frosting" from this site which turned out so good. It tasted just like strawberry ice cream. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2011
Just made this for my dad's birthday and it brought down the house! So good. I've made a similar version before, and here are the tweaks I made: First, use an all-natural jello from whole foods or somewhere to avoid the shocking pink color (and improve taste). Instead of water I use 6 oz. Greek Yogurt or buttermilk - makes cakes moist (and just add a bit of sugar to counteract the sourness). I used a bit less oil (3/4c) because esp. with the yogurt it really doesn't need a full cup (and I'm not one to skimp). I add 1/2 each of chopped pecans and unsweetened coconut - a nice texture/taste addition. Finally, for the frosting, I needed another cup of confectioner sugar to stiffen it up, and it was extremely sweet, so I folded in 1.5 cups of whipping cream (whipped to stiff peaks)- so yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2011
I always have yellow cake mix so I decided to make it with it. I don't see how a white mix would have been better because my cake came out very well. I did use 3/4 c oil and 3/4 c of water because that's how my lemon jello is made. It worked and I used a powered sugar glaze that had milk, a little butter and vanilla. I just drizzled it on it was fine. I have also made this cake with a cream cheese frosting too. The glaze seems to be my favorite since it is lighter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Melissa T
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2011
This is a great recipe! It has an amazing strawberry flavor...I frosted with vanillia buttercream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2011
I really enjoy this cake and so does everyone else. The only thing I do different is to use a cream cheese based icing. Yummm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rachealvarhola

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hampton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Gloucester, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
I made this cake for Easter. Instead of making three round cakes, I made it in 9 x 13 pan. Once it cooled, I turned it out onto a platter. Instead of the butter cream frosting I used the recipe on this site for Easy Whipped Cream. I doubled the recipe, but cut the sour cream by half and increased the heavy cream. The tang was just right with the richness of the strawberry cake. It was wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 227) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Strawberry Cake from Scratch

This impressive cake is rich with the flavor of real strawberries.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Tiramisu Layer Cake

This rich, coffee-flavored classic is surprisingly easy to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States