Strawberry Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 27, 2012
nothing but ABSOLUTE 5 STAR reviews. All my friends love it and it really does deserve to be labeled 5 star.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2012
Great taste, but it was more like brownie consistency than cake - very dense. I don't know if it was from my alterations or if it was the cake in general. I didn't want a whole cup of oil in the cake, so I used 1/2 cup applesauce, and I used 5 oz fresh pureed strawberries instead of frozen. Those were my only changes to the cake, and my result was awesome flavor but very dense. I didn't use the frosting - instead I put a layer of lemon pie filling and a layer of cool whip on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2012
I used a French Vanilla cake mix for the base (what I had) and 1# fresh strawberries, pureed, holding a few back for decoration. I put all of the puree into the cake batter. I put it in a bundt pan and baked for 1 hour. I made the Satiny Chocolate Glaze from this site to drizzle over. The cake was extremely moist and dense; think poundcake. It didn't rise as high as a "usual" bundt cake. We don't like things too sweet and it wasn't. 5 stars as it was so moist. I was hesitant to make it because a pink cake doesn't do anything for me visually. I've always had this aversion to them but if someone asked me to make a Strawberry Cake, this would definitely be it. The not-too-sweet glaze went very well with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2012
Very Nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WENCH01

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2012
Cake was amazing! I did follow another user's advice of only using 2 tbsp of strawberry puree for the frosting and I was not disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2012
I've never baked this cake however I've used the strawberry frosting recipe plenty of times, which is awesome! I followed Ramajohn's review and only used 2 tbsp of strawberry puree for the frositng.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2012
We enjoyed the taste of strawberry but we felt it was an ugly color :) I am not sure if it was my fault or not but it was not a bright pink. It seemed a bit dull kinda like dirty strawberry color. I think next time I will add food coloring to it and also I added 1 tsp of strawberry extract to my batter before I baked the cake. We will definitely make it again with these few alterations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barbara Burrell

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Harts, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Dexter, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2012
This cake is very heavy. It has too much oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ajo263
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
This cake turned out very well and was loved by everyone! I frosted it with Chocolate Cream Cheese Frosting, also from this site. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ajo263

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
LOVE LOVE LOVE this cake.. Its very easy to make, it was my first time baking and it was a success. My daughter even made it herself when I refused to because I knew she was going to eat the whole thing alone!!! Everyone loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 233) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Strawberry Cake from Scratch

This impressive cake is rich with the flavor of real strawberries.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Tiramisu Layer Cake

This rich, coffee-flavored classic is surprisingly easy to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States