Strawberry Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Photo by jennifer fortune
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2008
Rave reviews! Everyone could not get enough of this cake! The only changes I made were from other reviews suggestions... I added cream cheese to the icing and mixed whipped cream and pureed strawberries as the filing. Yum!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2008
I wasn't sure about this cake as I wanted to make one from scratch and it called for adding a cake mix--I shouldn't have worried! Took it to an adult birthday party where cake isn't expected to be a hit...everone loved it! I didn't have frozen strawberries, used one can and some fresh...had about 5 people ask me for the recipe and 2 requestes to bring it for their birthdays! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Post Falls, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2008
This is so delicious!!! It is so moist! I used whole frozen (but thawed) unsweetened strawberries. Everyone loved this cake! I used the "Cool Whipped Frosting" using fat free whipped cream and it was still awesome! I put the frosting directly on the cake (not adding strawberries to it) I chopped white chocolate chips and topped the frosting with them, and then with sliced strawberries. These flavors were amazing together! I am bringing the leftovers to the office tomorrow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisamarie13

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Long Grove, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2008
This cake tastes very good, but it's not very pretty. I used a 9x13 pan instead of making 3 layers. I don't recommend trying to use this icing on a 3 layer cake, but it works well for a 9x13 cake. As others have said, it's more of a glaze than an icing. I used fresh strawberries. Next time I think I'll puree the strawberries that are in the cake and some of the strawberries in the glaze. I liked the look of strawberry slices in the glaze though, so I'll leave some of those whole.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cheddabizcuit

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Franklin, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2008
This is a really good cake. I used fresh strawberries for both cake and frosting, and added a tsp of vanilla to the frosting. I also made cupcakes, they turned out very nice as well. I would not hesitate to bring this to a potluck or get-together, it is fairly light and full of flavor without any cloying sweetness. And who doesn't like strawberry :-) Caveat: The word "frosting" is a bit of a misnomer here. This makes more of a glaze. If you are expecting something fluffy and thick, you should ice the cake with a different frosting recipe. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Flannery

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2008
Fun to make and to try but this doesn't rate in the "Recipe Hall of Fame." The cake itself is moist and flavorful, but I couldn't quite get past the artificial taste and color. Also, given the reviews about the frosting being a "sloppy mess," I took other reviewers' suggestions and used "Cool Whipped Frosting," substituting strawberry extract for the vanilla and adding 1/3 cup of strawberry puree. I made this in two layers, and put a layer of fresh, sliced strawberries over the filling in between the layers. I decorated it with just a few fresh strawberries with the stems. I could see this "pretty in pink" cake as a real crowd pleaser for a little girl's birthday party, and wish I had come across this when my daughter was younger. All around, not much payoff or reward for the effort. To me, it just screams "fake."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2008
I made this for my daughter's 15th birthday party and it was delicious. The frosting was runny and looked a mess but they had fun calling it the ugly cake and she even posted a picture of it on her my space page! Will make it again complete with the ugly frosting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori Lee

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2008
Made this for my daughter's second birthday. We all enjoyed it and it was very simple to make. I just wish the flavor was better. I used "Cool Whip Frosting" off this site in between the layers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Charles, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Midland, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2008
I made this exactly as stated except that I pureed the strawberries first. I think next time I will add more strawberries than the recipe calls for... I didn't think there were enough. Otherwise, the cake part of this recipe was excellent and quite tasty. I did not make the icing after reading the other reviewers, opting instead for Cool Whipped Frosting from this site. It was the perfect choice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seneca, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Canton, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2008
I made this cake last night at my house and it's gone today! I have 2 requests for the recipe already! The only thing I did differently was make a strawberry cream cheese icing with 2 3oz. pkg of cream cheese, a stick of butter, teaspoon of vanilla, and measured out powdered sugar to around 5 cups. Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 223) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Strawberry Cake from Scratch

This impressive cake is rich with the flavor of real strawberries.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Tiramisu Layer Cake

This rich, coffee-flavored classic is surprisingly easy to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States