Strawberry Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
Very Yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TRACY C.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Akron, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2013
I have been making this cake for years - here are changes my recipe calls for mix 4 eggs with 3/4 cup oil then add white cake mix and gelatin which has been softened with 1/2 cup water. My recipe also calls for frozen strawberries but because of all the problems the other viewers had I used fresh strawberries in the cake & in the icing. I did not mix the icing very long because it will get runny. I used 2 9" pans with cake strips (they make ur cake rise flat so u don't have to cut the tops). It came out great - I would recommend either wax paper on the bottom or parchment paper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Living In: Mechanicsville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2013
This cake was very dry. Maybe if you made it with pudding instead of jello it would be better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2013
Cake has a good flavor. Wasn't a fan of the icing so I made cream cheese frosting which complimented it well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Scottsville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2013
Moist and delicious! Very easy to make. I always use fresh strawberries, not frozen. I have Leo substituted other fruits. I just made a black cherry version. Black cherry jello and fresh cherries for the substitutions. It came out even tastier than the strawberry version!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melpav

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Paramus, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2013
Substituted yellow cake mix used frozen fresh strawberries from our garden last summer. The intensity of the strawberry flavor was incredible. For frosting I used 1 stick butter 4 c.powdered sugar, 1/2 t vanilla with the rest of the defrosted strawberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Powell, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2013
I baked this in 9x13 pan. My Huaband said it was the best cake I ever baked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2013
Made this for my 5 year old's Max & Ruby birthday cake...LOVED it! Great flavor, easy to make. I followed the previous reviewer, Ramajohn's, advice and only did 2 TBSP puree for the icing. Used fresh strawberries, I didnt strain the seeds, wasnt noticable when eating. Highly recommend if you have kid that wants a tasty pink birthday cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2013
I only made the cake from this recipe and used a strawberry cream cheese recipe from another site. But the cake itself was fantastic. What a delicious flavor. I didn't find it overly sweet and my husband loved it! It was very moist even though I only used 1/2 cup canola oil. I also used 1 whole cup of water instead of 1/2. I will definitely use this strawberry cake recipe from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rae Maria

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Doral, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2013
Incredibly good! I followed Ramajohn's suggestions and used just over 1/2 cup of puree in the cake and about 3 TBSP in the frosting. Perfect in a 9 x 13 pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GolferGirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbia, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 217) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Strawberry Cake from Scratch

This impressive cake is rich with the flavor of real strawberries.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Tiramisu Layer Cake

This rich, coffee-flavored classic is surprisingly easy to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States