Strawberry Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2014
I should've realized that the amount of strawberries for the frosting was too much for the low amount of powdered sugar. Unfortunately, I used the rest of what I had and didn't have more to fix it. Fortunately, I had a block of cream cheese and it saved the icing and is so good! I will forever add cream cheese to this frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tricia Winterle Jaeger

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Sasebo, Nagasaki, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2014
I do it in a 13x9 pan and it's the best thing I've ever tasted! Always comes out nice and moist! Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nita Cooper

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mjk79
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2014
Made cupcakes for a potluck, and they were a huge success! They're light, fluffy, and perfectly moist. The jello does mean they have a distinctly artificial taste to them, so if you want real strawberry taste, this is not the recipe for you. I don't mind it, but it was much stronger than I'd hoped. I also did not make the frosting, and instead opted for a honey vanilla bean frosting found elsewhere.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2014
This review is for the cake only. This was a really tasty strawberry cake. We used a vanilla buttercream for the frosting and used a cream cheese filling in between the layers. I only had enough batter for 2 9" layers and ended up making an additional batch for the 3rd layer. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crikkitt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tipp City, Ohio, USA
Living In: Midland, Texas, USA
Photo by Jamie C
Reviewed: May 4, 2014
Im not a huge fan of strawberry cake, but my husband is so I decided to give this a try. I made the batter as instructed. For the frosting though, I did one stick of butter, 2 cups confectionary sugar, and a little evaporated milk. And I put in a tiny bit of strawberries to add color. This frosting turned out awesome. I also added mini chocolate chips to the side :) looked awesome! Tasted great too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2014
I used store-bought frosting because it's easier, but the cake itself was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2014
this was soooooo good i made it for my friend and we loved it and it tunred out a pretty pink color if i could i would give this 10 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cuttycat109

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2014
This cake turned out very well, but I made a significant last-minute change: it calls for ONE WHOLE CUP of oil, when the cake mix only called for 1/3 cup. So I added only 1/2 cup oil (I always use light-tasting olive oil) and it came out great -- plenty moist. I don't have a food processor, so I chopped the fresh strawberries small and then used a potato masher. I was concerned about the artificial flavor in the jello, but the real berries made it taste right. Also, I prefer a traditional frosting, so I used "Best Buttercream Frosting" from this site and just whipped in about 5 ounces mashed strawberries. The berries caused the frosting to separate, but I just spread it and then chilled the whole cake. The frosting had a sort of textured appearance, but it looked nice and all tasted great. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
Very Yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TRACY C.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Akron, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2013
I have been making this cake for years - here are changes my recipe calls for mix 4 eggs with 3/4 cup oil then add white cake mix and gelatin which has been softened with 1/2 cup water. My recipe also calls for frozen strawberries but because of all the problems the other viewers had I used fresh strawberries in the cake & in the icing. I did not mix the icing very long because it will get runny. I used 2 9" pans with cake strips (they make ur cake rise flat so u don't have to cut the tops). It came out great - I would recommend either wax paper on the bottom or parchment paper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Living In: Mechanicsville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 225) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Strawberry Cake from Scratch

This impressive cake is rich with the flavor of real strawberries.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Tiramisu Layer Cake

This rich, coffee-flavored classic is surprisingly easy to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States