Strawberry Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by mjk79
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2014
Made cupcakes for a potluck, and they were a huge success! They're light, fluffy, and perfectly moist. The jello does mean they have a distinctly artificial taste to them, so if you want real strawberry taste, this is not the recipe for you. I don't mind it, but it was much stronger than I'd hoped. I also did not make the frosting, and instead opted for a honey vanilla bean frosting found elsewhere.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2014
This review is for the cake only. This was a really tasty strawberry cake. We used a vanilla buttercream for the frosting and used a cream cheese filling in between the layers. I only had enough batter for 2 9" layers and ended up making an additional batch for the 3rd layer. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crikkitt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tipp City, Ohio, USA
Living In: Midland, Texas, USA
Photo by Jamie C
Reviewed: May 4, 2014
Im not a huge fan of strawberry cake, but my husband is so I decided to give this a try. I made the batter as instructed. For the frosting though, I did one stick of butter, 2 cups confectionary sugar, and a little evaporated milk. And I put in a tiny bit of strawberries to add color. This frosting turned out awesome. I also added mini chocolate chips to the side :) looked awesome! Tasted great too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2014
I used store-bought frosting because it's easier, but the cake itself was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2014
this was soooooo good i made it for my friend and we loved it and it tunred out a pretty pink color if i could i would give this 10 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cuttycat109

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2014
This cake turned out very well, but I made a significant last-minute change: it calls for ONE WHOLE CUP of oil, when the cake mix only called for 1/3 cup. So I added only 1/2 cup oil (I always use light-tasting olive oil) and it came out great -- plenty moist. I don't have a food processor, so I chopped the fresh strawberries small and then used a potato masher. I was concerned about the artificial flavor in the jello, but the real berries made it taste right. Also, I prefer a traditional frosting, so I used "Best Buttercream Frosting" from this site and just whipped in about 5 ounces mashed strawberries. The berries caused the frosting to separate, but I just spread it and then chilled the whole cake. The frosting had a sort of textured appearance, but it looked nice and all tasted great. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
Very Yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TRACY C.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Akron, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2013
I have been making this cake for years - here are changes my recipe calls for mix 4 eggs with 3/4 cup oil then add white cake mix and gelatin which has been softened with 1/2 cup water. My recipe also calls for frozen strawberries but because of all the problems the other viewers had I used fresh strawberries in the cake & in the icing. I did not mix the icing very long because it will get runny. I used 2 9" pans with cake strips (they make ur cake rise flat so u don't have to cut the tops). It came out great - I would recommend either wax paper on the bottom or parchment paper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Living In: Mechanicsville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2013
This cake was very dry. Maybe if you made it with pudding instead of jello it would be better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2013
Cake has a good flavor. Wasn't a fan of the icing so I made cream cheese frosting which complimented it well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jill Wilkerson Harmon
Living In: Scottsville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 223) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Strawberry Cake from Scratch

This impressive cake is rich with the flavor of real strawberries.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Tiramisu Layer Cake

This rich, coffee-flavored classic is surprisingly easy to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States