Strawberry Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2010
This cake is the BOMB. My family loved it. I make this cake in a bunt pan and only use 1/2 the icing.I ice it while it is still warm so the icing runs down the sides.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2010
This has become our family's favorite cake. The kids request it all the time and it's served at every holiday.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2010
PERFECT STRAWBERRY CAKE!!! Put the strawberries thru the Ninja and they make beautiful muffin size cupcakes!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by yummers
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2010
I made this for my hubby's b-day and everyone loved it! Next time I would just thicken the frosting. I added a little lemon juice to the frosting to give it a little zing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by yummers

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MAMALEIGH
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2010
Goodbye, strawberry cake mix! I followed the recipe very closely, but I added 1/4 cup flour instead of 3 tablespoons. I used 3 cake pans as directed, and all three were filled to the top after baking. So, three pans is a must. I don't thinK I'd try to get away with using two pans. For the frosting, I used a half cup of shortening, one stick of softened butter, 1/2 cup of pureed strawberries, a 2-pound bag of powdered sugar, 1 or 2 teaspoons of vanilla (to taste) and a teaspoon of butter flavoring. I creamed the butter, shortenng, flavorings, andberries in my stand mixer, slowly added the sugar, and left it on high speed for about 10 minutes. The result was a light strawberry buttercream frosting that was easy to spread, but not to thin. I'll keep this recipe in mind for the next time someone requests a strawbrry cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAMALEIGH

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2010
This was wonderful! I actually blended the strawberries in the blender with water, then mixed everything together. I also made cupcakes instead. Recipe made about 36 cupcakes. Bake at 325 for about 18 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by K

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2010
I LOVE this cake but like the others, the frosting just has the runs. I even altered by adding more powdered sugar but that only helped a little. I love the taste of the frosting but it doesn't tranport well. I hate that I may have to use something thicker like a cream cheese based frosting. While the latter is good, it's just different. Also, I don't feel comfortable leaving the cake out of the fridge for long as I use fresh stawbs. Maybe this isn't a good bake-sale selection. Still, I will be devouring it during strawberry season.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2010
I just made this using a chocolate cake mix as the base. Heavenly!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2010
This was veryyyyy good! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hammond, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Plaquemine, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2010
LOVE this cake. Very Easy and always gets rave reviews! I use fresh strawberries and a cream cheese frosting... Nothing Better!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dix Hills, New York, USA
Living In: Apex, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 227) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Strawberry Cake from Scratch

This impressive cake is rich with the flavor of real strawberries.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Tiramisu Layer Cake

This rich, coffee-flavored classic is surprisingly easy to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States