Strawberry Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Photo by SusanB
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2011
Excellent cake. I reduced the cooking time to 25 minutes or it's to dry and then made butter cream frosting for the side which holds up better then the cream cheese frosting. Inside I mixed the Whipped cream with the cream cheese and powder sugar and vanilla, it makes a light and fluffy cheesecake filling-don't over whip it or it will go flat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SusanB

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2011
This turned out very sweet and too dense the first time I made it without changing up anything. It was still pretty good. The next time, I just made it very simple. I simply used a Philsbury yellow package cake mix (followed instructions per the box) with 1/2 cup strawberries pureed in the cake mix and 2 tbsp in the icing (suggested by Ramajohn) and that's it! I just topped the cake with fresh strawberries. I omitted everything else and it turned out excellent! I guess I created a new recipe, but hey everyone loved it at a birthday party!! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
This cake is really good and easy to whip together which is especially helpful when you are cooking with kids. I am not a huge fan of boxed cake mixes, but I would still give it very high marks! I used fresh strawberries . . . cooked them down a little and mashed them. My icing coagulated, but that didn't stop anyone from enjoying it! I know I will make this cake again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2011
This cake was so, so good. The only reason that I am giving it four stars is the amount of oil. I did not modify this recipe, but if I make it again I am going to use an alternative. One cup is WAAAY too much. We used this for cake balls (recipe from this site) and it was so oily that it kept leaking from outside the chocolate, which looked gross.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LisaMC
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
This was a delight. Made the cream cheese frosting and decorated with dipped white chocolate strawberries. My husband wants it for his birthday cake from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LisaMC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
I LOVE strawberry cake and reading a lot of the good reviews this one received, I thought would be the one make. This was easy to make. But, unfortunately my wife and I were very disappointed. The previous reviewer was correct when she said it tasted FAKE! There was no fooling my taste buds, as much as I tried to like it, it wasn't happening. I followed the directions to the T. Cake was more dense than we prefer, which I can look past, but the taste, not so much. If you're reading this...keep looking for another strawberry cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Aiken, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by foodforthought
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
A pretty 3-layer cake. This cake is really sweet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by foodforthought

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2010
This cake was a huge hit at my daughter's birthday party. Based on what another reviewer recommended, I too blended the strawberries into a puree and strained the seeds from the puree with a mesh strainer. I also opted to go with a 9x13 sheet cake. Beyond that, the recipe is completely perfect as-is. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2010
This cake is the BOMB. My family loved it. I make this cake in a bunt pan and only use 1/2 the icing.I ice it while it is still warm so the icing runs down the sides.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2010
This has become our family's favorite cake. The kids request it all the time and it's served at every holiday.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 225) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Strawberry Cake from Scratch

This impressive cake is rich with the flavor of real strawberries.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Tiramisu Layer Cake

This rich, coffee-flavored classic is surprisingly easy to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States