Strawberry Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2012
We enjoyed the taste of strawberry but we felt it was an ugly color :) I am not sure if it was my fault or not but it was not a bright pink. It seemed a bit dull kinda like dirty strawberry color. I think next time I will add food coloring to it and also I added 1 tsp of strawberry extract to my batter before I baked the cake. We will definitely make it again with these few alterations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barbara Burrell

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Harts, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Dexter, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2012
This cake is very heavy. It has too much oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ajo263
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
This cake turned out very well and was loved by everyone! I frosted it with Chocolate Cream Cheese Frosting, also from this site. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ajo263

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
LOVE LOVE LOVE this cake.. Its very easy to make, it was my first time baking and it was a success. My daughter even made it herself when I refused to because I knew she was going to eat the whole thing alone!!! Everyone loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
I love it, made it twice in 3 weeks, my only changes were that I made the cake in bundt pan, as the icing was more like a glaze.. Everyone LOVE IT!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cjai

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bryan, Texas, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
The ingredients for the icing is right on. I made the best strawberry icing and cake (draining the strawberries) ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2011
I made this as written, except I made a bundt cake and I pureed my strawberries and strained the seeds as a personal preference. On the icing, I used aabout a 1/3 cup of pureed and strained strawberries and also made the icing with 1/2 the butter and 4 oz cream cheese. I ended up using 2 cups of sugar to get the consitency I wanted, still a bit runny like a glaze for the bundt. It turned out wonderful. Oh yes! 1 more change, I used applesauce in place of the oil to cut out SOME fat as this is not a low-cal cake! LOL But it's worth the extra calories. Just make thinner slices, more cake to go around. LOL
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pearl Watson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
turned out real good, yummm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shakeel Syed

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Round Lake, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
I actually made the cake the way the recipe says to make it and it turned out marvellous! Unlike the complaints from other reviewers, my frosting did not come out runny or sloppy at all. If you like strawberry ice cream, you will love this cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by thicknik

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Camden, Alabama, USA
Living In: Navarre, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2011
This cake is so light and good -even better left over. Make sure if using fresh strawberries that the are completely dried after washing . I made the mistake the second time and it was too loose, but still delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katie H

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newburyport, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 227) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Strawberry Cake from Scratch

This impressive cake is rich with the flavor of real strawberries.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Tiramisu Layer Cake

This rich, coffee-flavored classic is surprisingly easy to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States