Strawberry Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 8, 2004
Excellent. I made a few changes. I used fresh strawberries and pureed them, then omitted the oil. I actually made this into cupcakes and they are excellent. They baked for about 21 minutes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miss  Molly

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2000
The best strawberry cake I have ever had. I will use this a lot in the future. It is a great summer dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2001
made this for my hubby's birthday. it was a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2001
After trying several strawberry cake recipes, this one was the best. I used fresh garden strawberries and will definitely use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2004
this cake is soo easy to make and so lite- its the perfect girls cake/ summer cake to end a great feast. if you ike it sweet- add strawberry whipped frosting, its just superb and soo easy to make. it just looks and tastes like you've slaved in the kitchen all day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2004
Wow! This cake was good. I served it with lemon icing and it was hard to resist. It came out very moist and the flavor of the strawberries helped so that it was not too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2005
This was a fantastic cake!!! i used a bit more strawberries than the receipe called for and I made a frosting which was white icing and cool whip and then dazzled it up with shaved white chocolate. Quite a site! I plan to make this for my daughters birthday cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CookinNurse
Reviewed: May 22, 2006
Absolutely delicious! I got raving compliments over this cake and it is so easy to make. I used about 1 cup diced fresh strawberries in the batter instead of frozen. Frosted with Betty's Light and Fluffy White icing and garnished with strawberries and mint leaves - i wish I would've taken a picture. Everyone commented on how moist the cake was and I think it is due to using fresh strawberries. Will def keep this one for a summertime dessert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinNurse

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Greeneville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Photo by LOUIE75
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2006
I got RAVE reviews at work with the cake. I actually had some co-workers upset because it went so quick and there wasn't enough for everyone. One comment was "it was the best cake he has ever had"! I used the pinapple filling recipe from this site and just subsituted strawberries for the pinapple and then used a traditional buttercream frosting with strained strawberry puree instead of milk or water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2006
This was very good. I don't like Strawberry Cake, but I made it for my Mom (it's her favorite). I didn't have buttermilk, but did the substitution method (1 T. vinegar or lemon juice to 1 c. milk) and it seemd to work fine. My cake fell quite a bit in the middle and I had to cook it longer than recipe states AND I messed up (my fault...I'm NOT a "Baker" hee hee) on my frosting (salvagable), but the CAKE ITSELF was GREAT!! Will make again using another type of frosting ~ Thanks a bunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SoccerMom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 108) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Strawberry Cake from Scratch

This impressive cake is rich with the flavor of real strawberries.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States