Strawberry Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2008
This is a great cake. It is quite sweet, but we loved it. I used a vanilla cake mix and followed the recipe with the exception of the berries. I used a mixed bag of frozen berries (strawberries, raspberries and blueberries) and pureed them. I folded the berries into the batter and baked for about 40 minutes. I frosted this with a vanilla frosting but wish I hadn't used frosting at all. Because the cake is so sweet it would be much better if left unfrosted and served with fresh or pureed berries spooned over the top. This is a really good cake recipe and we really enjoyed the flavor. The mixed berry puree gave mine a pink/purple color that the kids loved.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BroncosFan
Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Always The Hostess
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2008
I was inspired by the gelatin for the most part and didn't use most of the other key ingredients listed here so you can ignore my review if you wish. As per request, I used 1 package of French Vanilla cake mix and only 1 oz strawberry flavored gelatin as a prophylactic against an overbearingly sweet cake. I also used 1 cup of milk, 1/3 cup of butter, 4 eggs, and sandwiched strawberry pie filling between 2 cake layers in lieu of mixing in frozen strawberries to the cake batter. I frosted the cake with Kristen Pontier's French Buttercream frosting recipe, which can be found on this site, then coated with crushed french vanilla wafers and peanuts. I made this cake on a Thursday night and the leftovers tasted better on Saturday morning. By then, the frosting and cake were well-married. The cake itself was firm but still very moist and perfectly sweet. It wasn't the best cake I've ever tasted... but I didn't really follow this recipe so I may have missed out! One of my co-workers said he didn't believe that I made it and said I bought it from a bakery! Another said she usually hates "fruit" cakes but loved this one. I've uploaded a photo of my cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Always The Hostess
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2008
Delish!! I used a french vanilla cake as others suggested and frosted with Whipped Cream Cheese frosting from this site. It was perfect. The only change I will make next time is to use the entire 16 oz. package of strawberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HARTMR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2008
This cake was delightfully flavorful and moist. I used the french vanilla cake mix and frozen strawberries which I drained first. Also made the whipped cream cream cheese frosting, and will use a more traditional cream cheese frosting next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHARITYBOO

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oshkosh, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2008
Oh, man, this cake was to die for!! I pureed 1.5 cup frozen strawberries and used a French Vanilla cake mix, then followed the rest of the recipe to a "T". Came out so moist and delicious. Followed others suggestions and topped it with Whipped Cream Cream Cheese Frosting. YUMMY, A+ recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bethel, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2007
made this recipe in cupcakes form. It was amazing. I used creamcheese icing and the taste was really good!!!!Thanks so much.... will be making this again!!!!1
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2007
I
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2007
I made this cake for my daughter's 5th birthday. It turned out quite yummy (and pink). Per others' suggestions, I used fresh strawberries (1 1/2 cups, diced) instead of frozen, and a french vanilla cake mix. As some reviewers said, it was a touch too sweet, so I think I'll cut down on the strawberry jello mix next time. Made 2- 9" rounds and baked for 25 minutes. Came out moist and perfectly cooked. Frosted with buttercream frosting tinted pink~very pretty. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kjkcooks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2007
This is a WONDERFUL cake. I have used this for the past two kids birthday cake and then I use the wedding cake icing recipe off this site. It's wonderful. I put sliced strawberries and their juice in here and it makes it even better! I also use a mixer for mixing the cake, makes it cook more evenly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tigzgurl

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Texarkana, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2007
A very pink cake! This would be fun for kids but I thought it was a little too sweet because it had the recognizable Jello flavor to it. The real strawberries are tasty but they make it a bit soggy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HOLLYJOLLY
Home Town: Bluewater, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

Displaying results 71-80 (of 108) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Strawberry Cake from Scratch

This impressive cake is rich with the flavor of real strawberries.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Coconut Poke Cake

See how to make this moist coconut cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States