Strawberry Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2009
This is a great version of this classic recipe. I chose to try this one over my original, that I've used for years, because of the buttermilk. I find that buttermilk gives baked goods a nice texture. Will use this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Dallas, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2009
The strawberry pieces in the batter turned out well. The frosting was great. The strawberries that I put on top sweated and dripped pink water on the top of the cake. Served this for bunko and the entire cake got eaten. Not my favorite, only because I know I can do better, but it certainly wasn't bad. Good for Vday or a little girl's birthday.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2009
I usually make all my cakes from scratch, but I can't find a strawberry cake recipe that comes out any better than this one. I've used it for years.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
I made these into cupcakes for my husband's birthday because he loves strawberry cake. These were ok for us. I followed the directions and only made a few minor substitutions which could have caused my lowere rating. They had an almost bitter taste or like something was missing. I used sugar-free jellow and french vanilla cake mix. I blended fresh strawberries and used 8oz in the mix to give a real strawberry taste. We topped the cupcakes with whipped cream and fresh stawberries. They were moist and tasted good but not what I was expecting. I will probably try another recipe before I use this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2009
This was great! I give it 5 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
I own a small cake business and received an order for strawberry cake which I had never made before. Your recipe seemed simple. I used a different icing recipe with marshmallow in it. I just heard from my customer. She said the cake was delicious and it reminded her of one from her childhood. This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2008
This cake is very easy, moist, and a big hit!!! For frosting I just whipped up some thawed strawberries with some Cool Whip. Yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2008
A little sweet for my taste, but it was a big hit at Bible study. I made this as cupcakes and cooked them for 12 minutes, but they could have used more time... maybe more like 14. I topped them with cream cheese frosting. Mmmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kirsten

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2008
Great cake! This recipe is very similar to one that I use from 'The Cake Mix Doctor' book, which also uses gelatin. I had been searching for a way to make a strawberry cake with enough flavor but without having to add to many fresh strawberries (which makes the cake very dense and heavy). The only changes I made to this reipe were as follows: only 3 eggs, add one cup of sour cream (makes the cake very moist), one cup of mashed strawberries (about 1 and a half cups whole), and only two T. flour. I usually make a double layer, torte the two layers, and fill them with a strawberry glaze or whipped cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trish Bakes

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2008
Great cake. Made it for a fundraising auction & the person who bought it wanted the recipe. I made a second one for my family & it was a hit. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jmlionhunter

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA
Living In: Del Norte, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 109) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Strawberry Cake from Scratch

This impressive cake is rich with the flavor of real strawberries.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Coconut Poke Cake

See how to make this moist coconut cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States