Strawberry Cake from Scratch Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 31, 2003
I made this cake and iced it with cream cheese icing, it was moist and delicious! A very easy cake to make, this will be one of my regulars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2003
I would use fresh strawberries instead of the frozen kind. Otherwise a very good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Washington, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2004
This cake was moist and delicious. I frosted it with cream cheese icing and it was a huge hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2004
This cake was incredibly delicous and moist! I came across this recipe after my son asked for a strawberry birthday cake. I used the two layers of cake to form Patrick the Starfish from SpongeBob Squarepants.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2003
one of the best Strawberry cakes I have tried.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2003
I made this cake today and took it to work. What an AWESOME cake! I had some strawberries that I had to use up and am I ever glad I checked here first! I did make it in a 13x9 inch pan instead of the double layer. Baked it for 45 minutes (glass). Then made a "fluff" topping made of 1/2 cool whip and 1/2 cream cheese. I whipped these together till smooth and then stirred in about a cup of finely chopped strawberries. Did I ever get the rave reviews. Each person actually took a piece of cake and then spooned the "fluff" over that. Thanks for a great recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
149 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OODLES_OR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2003
I have a six yr old boy and he is allergic to soy. He had been asking for a strawberry cake and I have searched HIGH and LOW for one. You can NOT begin to imagine how GLAD I was when I saw THIS recipe! IT WAS GREAT!!!!! Wish there were more stars available to give you!! THANK YOU EVER SO MUCH FOR SUBMITTING IT!!! By the way, I made cupcakes too. BOTH turned out WONDERFUL! VERY TASTY, MOIST, AND FULL OF FLAVOR!! Again, THANK you so very much for submitting it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2003
ver good. it doesn't even need the frosting or whipped cream! That fresh strawberry cake is delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2003
This is one of the best strawberry cakes that I have ever tasted...soft and moist. I added this to my cookbook right after I took my first bite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2004
This is a great cake. Again, I made some changes and it tasted even better. I used 1 tsp of vanilla and 1 tsp of almond flavorings added to the puree. I used unbleached flour and cut it to 2 1/2 cups. It made the cake lighter. The crust on this cake is unbelieveable. Used almond flavoring for the icing. Try it you'll like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 699) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Strawberry Cake from Scratch

This impressive cake is rich with the flavor of real strawberries.

Dirt Cake I

Fool 'em with a fun cake that looks just like a flower pot.

Banana Cake VI

Discover the simple secret to super-moist banana cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States