Strawberry Cake from Scratch Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Photo by TrinaLillian
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
I added a little bit of vegetable oil to make it moist...this recipe is A1!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
I have been baking cakes for 40 years and the scratch strawberry cake really caught my eye. I read all the reviews and with all the reviews of this cake being too dense, I don't get it. This cake was fantastic. I make all the birthday cakes for our entire business and some said this was my best cake of all I had made and believe me I have made a lot of cakes. I put puree between each layer and semi froze the layers then iced them. I did make three layers and this cake was beautiful. I put strawberries on top and served puree with each slice. Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Kings Mountain, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Gastonia, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
This tasted better than I thought it would when I mixed it and put it into the oven, but it still wasn't anything to get excited about. First, the color was an awful pinkish gray. I really wished I had some food coloring to make it a little more pink or red. After it was baked, I found the strawberry flavor to be so subtle that it was almost not there. I also wished I had used a little more leavening in order to get more rise. The only thing that I like about this instead of simply making a boxed mix was that it has a lot less artificial flavorings and preservatives.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by blackhighheels

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2014
The foundation of a really good cake is here but it would have been very dense indeed had I not read the reviews and done some tweeking of my own. I followed the advice of separating the eggs and whipping the whites. I also reduced the flour to 2 1/2 cups, omitted the vanilla, and used 3/4 cup of strawberry puree versus 1/2 a cup. After making these changes I had a light cake with excellent strawberry flavor, but doesn't taste artificial like a lot of strawberry cakes do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
Ok, def a great recipe! I agree to add the teaspoon of salt and sift the flour before measuring as others have suggested. I also used the strawberry buttercream icing as suggested by Naples. This cake was amazing! I made it for my bday, only lasted 3 days for 3 people, plus made coworkers jealous with pictures of my pretty pink cake;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
I tried this reciepe for the first time this past Friday nite 1.3.14, I was bored ans since I had all the ingredients, I was like, why not! I baked a sheet cake instead, made my own vanilla frosting, it was amazinng! I let a few of my friends try it, they LOVED it!...Im rating 5 stars all the way!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
This recipe is awesome! I took heed and measured the flour after sifting. My husband is in love,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shondalicious

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Conway, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
I dont normally rate recipes but I really did not like this one. I followed everything exact, and it was so dense and artificial tasting. It looked nice n pink sure but it tasted so bad. I was convinced I made a mistake so I tryed it again, extra carefully, and still has the same problem
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
I would like to try this recipe. Sounds delish! But my question is: what exactly is cake flour? any specific answers would be greatly appreciated. thanks in advance.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2013
I'm not sure what I did wrong with this recipe, but it didn't rise in the center. I've made many cakes, and I made a white cake a couple hours before making this one that has basically the same composition and it turned out fine, this recipe just a few differences in the quantity of ingredients. The other rose and was moist and delicious, and this one is concave in the center. Also, the gelatin gives it a very fake strawberry taste, you may as well use a box mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 727) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Strawberry Cake from Scratch

This impressive cake is rich with the flavor of real strawberries.

Dirt Cake I

Fool 'em with a fun cake that looks just like a flower pot.

Banana Cake VI

Discover the simple secret to super-moist banana cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States