Strawberry Cake from Scratch Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2012
Didn't like it. it is too dense. I made it into three 8 inch layers. followed all the tips from the other reviewers. separated the egg whites and beat them until I can see white peaks and mixed them witth the cake batter in the last.Added flour, milk, strawberry puree alternatively.Frosted the cake with chocolate frosting and also put strawberry puree sweetened and slices of strawberrry between two layers and choclate frosting and cream cheese frosting between the other two layers. still didnt like it as it is really dense
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2012
Such an amazing recipe! Due to my son's dairy allergy I altered the recipe a bit using soy milk rather than whole milk, and 3/4 cup of oil rather then butter and it turned out excellent. Will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2012
This is the best strawberry cake ever and is always a hit with my family and friends. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2012
It was perfect! Layered fresh strawberry between layers and to top the cake. Everyone loved it! Every crumb was eaten in less then 24 hours (4 adults) :) Can't wait to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ZOINKS
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2012
VERY GOOD but I used it for a checkerboard cake and the strawberry part was more moist than the yellow cake and didn't rise as much. I didn't use the whole packet of gelatin for this reason....because I didn't want that weird gelatinous consistency but it still was a tad overly moist. Very good strawberry flavor however.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2012
Delicious. Comes out moist and dense, which suits the preferences of my family. After looking through numerous reviews, I adopted these changes: Added 1/2 tsp salt; reduced sugar to 1 1/2 cups; used all purpose flour and cornstarch (2 TBSPs corn starch plus enough all purpose flour to make one cup) as I did not have cake flour; used 2 percent milk; used unsweetened fresh strawberries to make puree; used 2 9-inch cake pans; when frosting, put some raspberry preserves between the layers for a little tang! it was fabulous
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2012
I absolutely love the flavor of this cake, however, it shrinks quite a bit... too much. I assume because of the jello. If anyone has an answer for me to prevent the shrinkage, please respond.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cakemorecake
Home Town: Alhambra, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2012
The cake turned out dense for me, but it was yummy. I found that the taste even seemed to get better after a day or two. People were pleasantly with how strong the strawberry flavor was.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2012
This was a good base recipe but as other reviewers have stated, it needs a bit of salt (at least 1/2 tsp). I cut back on the sugar just a bit to about 1 1/2 cups (since the jello also has sugar in it). I also subbed 1/2 cup sour cream and 1/2 cup 2%milk because I didn't have whole milk on hand. I think you could easily sub yogurt as well. I also baked these as cupcakes and adjusted the baking time accordingly. I'm not usually one to use prepared foods but I did like the color and flavor that the jello added. So, yes, I made quite a few changes due to ingredients on hand and personal preference but all in all this is still a very good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookin Up A Storm

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Fergus Falls, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Santa Cruz, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2012
Fantastic! So moist and flavorful....couldn't stop eating it! I topped it with a homemade white chocolate cream cheese frosting...to die for! :o) Made just the way the recipe states, this recipe is most definitely a keeper in my books!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 707) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Strawberry Cake from Scratch

This impressive cake is rich with the flavor of real strawberries.

Dirt Cake I

Fool 'em with a fun cake that looks just like a flower pot.

Banana Cake VI

Discover the simple secret to super-moist banana cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States