Strawberry Cake from Scratch Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2014
I have never made a cake from scratch before and I have been baking for a long time. This cake has several steps and does take time. I strongly urge 1)check to be sure your baking powder is still active; 2)separating the eggs is the best way to add them--I separated the eggs and beat the yolks before adding; 3)fresh strawberry is great--I used 6 big ones and 1 TBSP of sugar in my food processor. I think the next time (and there will be a next time), I'll cut back the flour to 2 1/4 c. I also think I'll use real strawberries using my food processor. I didn't think the flavor was strawberry enough and don't want to buy strawberry extract (but will consider it). The cake was good but a little denser than I expected but received the A-OK from husband so it must be good since he isn't a real big cake eater. Also I read the reviews and someone suggested to freeze the cake before frosting and it was far and above better than Pam (LOL)! I will make this again with fresh baking powder. I am very pleased with my efforts and the result was better than I expected!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandy Beatty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
This cake was incredible!! Followed the advice of others. I seperated the egg whites and yolks. Whipped the whites into soft peaks and folded them in. Also, I sifted the flour and then after sifting measured it again. I spread some strawberry puree in between the two cake layers along with icing and it was very moist! I do not bake a lot and this cake turned out great. Everyone was impressed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2014
I don't even have to sifted the flour or separate eggs. It come out very light, fluffy and moist. Oh I change from whole milk to butter cream because I don't have whole milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by numy
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2014
i made this recipe for a cake and cupcakes and it turned out great. i filled the cake and frosted the cupcakes with strawberry mousse . it was not too strong or too sweet. it has a wonderfully light texture and a very nice color. i used fresh strawberry puree (i sprinkled a little sugar on the strawberries, left them for about an hour, pureed and sieved them). all my family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by numy

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Cairo, Al-Qahirah, Egypt
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2014
Hello everyone, I have a ? when people say that they used 3 9inch pans is that using the measurements that are stated on this page or are they doubling the recipe bcuz to fill 3 pans these measurements aren't enough r they pls let me know thank you.i had to put a rating to post this but I haven't tried it yet but I hope its comes out great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2014
This cake was a slam dunk for me. My family loved it. It was literally gone in 2 days. I rate this recipe 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Vicksburg, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
Because of the reviews, I was so confident in this recipe that I made it for my daughter's birthday party without first giving it a test. All I could taste was the gelatin. I put more fresh strawberry puree than the suggested amount, but the gelatin flavor was still so overpowering. I decided after reading several reviews to make 3 layers instead of 2 and it was still a little dense. I didn't receive any complaints at the party, but no compliments either. I take pride in my baking and was disappointed that this cake recipe didn't yield the results I'd expected. My 4 year old daughter loves "pink" cake enough that I will give it a second try, but definitely will make some modifications (much less gelatin, or maybe none, and more fresh strawberries)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by angelwolf
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2014
the baking power say to difftern thing it says one thin on the web set and another on the vedio
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
This makes about 3 dozen cupcakes. I have baked a lot of cupcakes. A LOT. These taste delicious. They do not rise up well. They are very flat. If you know that going in, then go for it, because the taste is great. Fun twist, I used cherry instead of strawberry for the jello and the fruit and tossed in a fistful of chocolate chips. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mkecupcakequeen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pomona, California, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2014
I will be making this again... simple to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 747) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Strawberry Cake from Scratch

This impressive cake is rich with the flavor of real strawberries.

Dirt Cake I

Fool 'em with a fun cake that looks just like a flower pot.

Banana Cake VI

Discover the simple secret to super-moist banana cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States