Strawberry Cake from Scratch Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
I dont normally rate recipes but I really did not like this one. I followed everything exact, and it was so dense and artificial tasting. It looked nice n pink sure but it tasted so bad. I was convinced I made a mistake so I tryed it again, extra carefully, and still has the same problem
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
I would like to try this recipe. Sounds delish! But my question is: what exactly is cake flour? any specific answers would be greatly appreciated. thanks in advance.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2013
I'm not sure what I did wrong with this recipe, but it didn't rise in the center. I've made many cakes, and I made a white cake a couple hours before making this one that has basically the same composition and it turned out fine, this recipe just a few differences in the quantity of ingredients. The other rose and was moist and delicious, and this one is concave in the center. Also, the gelatin gives it a very fake strawberry taste, you may as well use a box mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2013
I have made this cake twice now. I followed directions to the letter . First time I split the sugar with 1/2 splenda half sugar . The whole cake was flat, heavy. Just terrible it was barely 1 inch high. I through it out.. Next time I did use all sugar as per recipe but I had to use all purpose flour as I didn't have cake & pastry on hand . This one came out better but it was not light and fluffy it was still heavy and very dry . I cooked it at 350 just till it was done , "the tooth pick came out clean". I don't know why but I just cannot get a scratch cake to come out as soft and light as a cake mix.. This is an expensive cake to make so I don't think I will try it again.. too bad because strawberry cake is so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2013
Okay, I followed this recipe exactly and my cake was flat. I baked in 2 9in rounds. They rose and looked fluffy in the oven, but when I took them out, they got flat. The flavor was good, but was disappointed with the results. I ended up cutting the cakes and made a trifle instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lil Baker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2013
I made this cake in my culinary arts cake baking and decorating class and it was a smashing success! it was just fine for me, i sifted the flour after i measured it, along with the baking powder. i put the chantilly cream on the inside two layers and creamcheese frosting on the outside. simply divine
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2013
I was really concerned at making this recipe since I live at a high altitude and was very pleasantly surprised to find it worked great! It didn't fall or anything! The only complaint I have is that it's a bit too sweet for traditional frosting and does much better with a glaze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Delta, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2013
Excellent recipe.... Everybody loved the cake I made for a little boy's birthday
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2013
Ended up with a three layer cake, but everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tia Cross

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2013
I love this recipe! After reading some other reviews about the cake being too dense, I decided to purchase enough ingredients to make it a few times. (I was planning to use it for a friend's birthday so I wanted it to be perfect.) When I followed the original instructions, my cake did turn out to be tasty, but very heavy and not exactly what I would have liked. So the second time I made it, I added the vanilla and strawberry puree BEFORE adding the eggs, and whipped the batter on high speed for an extra thirty seconds after adding the last egg. My second cake was much lighter, and exactly what I was looking for. Definitely a crowd pleaser :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 700) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Strawberry Cake from Scratch

This impressive cake is rich with the flavor of real strawberries.

Dirt Cake I

Fool 'em with a fun cake that looks just like a flower pot.

Banana Cake VI

Discover the simple secret to super-moist banana cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States