Strawberry Cake from Scratch Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2014
great you must try for birthday
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackie Harris

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Alexandraxulip
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2014
By far my favorite cake ever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Joseph Ashford
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2014
A dilemma indeed. I made this cake for my 33rd birthday, my first attempt at a real cake! And I flopped. I think I let the creamed butter and sugar wait too long, and get too soft before I added everything I was supposed to. I will reattempt soon. I also made this with a vanilla custard and chopped strawberry filling, and topped it with a lemonny meringue icing. The flavors were great but the cake rose about a quarter of an inch. Next time, I will ensure all my ingredients are at the proper temp and properly prepped.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joseph Ashford

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2014
This was very good, the cake was really moist and it had the strawberry flavor I was looking for. I frosted it with a strawberry frosting and made it for guests, and they loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbia, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2014
Today is my husband's 30th! I've never made Strawberry Cake, however, this is his favorite. I tried this recipe and utilized helpful suggestions from previous reviews such as separating the egg yolks and whites, using 3 three pans instead of two, and reducing the sugar. My husband loves the cake; however, I would have to agree with a lot of the other reviews. I would have liked the cake to be a bit more fluffy. It was indeed a tad dense. Oh well, the hubby loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bonita

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2014
I followed the recipe as written, split into 2 9 in round pans and 25 minutes into baking, the cakes where bubbling over the side of the pans and still very soupy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Whitney Svoboda

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2014
It was just WAY too sweet for me! The jello powder in this recipe made it too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cambridge, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2014
Made this twice in two weeks - wow!! My husband has requested it for his birthday -it was a hit!! Better with fresh strawberries I think. (Tried both) thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2014
This recipe was so good, one of the best cake recipes I've found so far. I made a few changes but nothing major. Being a beginner with baking from scratch I've read that some people use pudding mix in their cakes and it helps make it moist. So I used a box of strawberry cream pudding mix that was sitting in my cabinet for months instead of buying jello mix. I also used fresh strawberries instead of frozen. It came out delicious and was gone by that night. It was a really fluffy and moist cake. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2014
I baked this cake twice. The second attempt was just as disastrous. Each time my cakes turned out like pink rubber.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 706) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Strawberry Cake from Scratch

This impressive cake is rich with the flavor of real strawberries.

Dirt Cake I

Fool 'em with a fun cake that looks just like a flower pot.

Banana Cake VI

Discover the simple secret to super-moist banana cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States