Strawberry Cake from Scratch Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by Tenessa
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2014
This cake was great. I followed others suggestions about using only the egg whites from the eggs and adding them into the mixture at the very end. I also used fresh strawberry that I put into the freezer a couple hours before. When watching the video it said if you use fresh strawberries to add sugar to them a few hours before. I did not add sugar to the fresh strawberries and I would not recommend it. The cake was sweet enough. It only took a little slice to hit the spot. I will definitely make again but I think next time I may try adding a little less sugar. I used some of the leftover puree in between the layers of cake. I baked at 350 for 35 minutes. Just check the cake after 20 minutes. If it's not done check it every 5 minute after till tooth pick comes out clean.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2014
This cake is amazing! I've made it at least 5 times exactly as the recipe says, and it gets inhaled every time. GothicGirl, you are the woman!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2014
i tried this recipe yesterday, it was really hard. it didn't came out the way it shows.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by espinozajuan4538

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fresno, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2014
delish...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2014
great you must try for birthday
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackie Harris

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Alexandraxulip
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2014
By far my favorite cake ever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Joseph Ashford
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2014
A dilemma indeed. I made this cake for my 33rd birthday, my first attempt at a real cake! And I flopped. I think I let the creamed butter and sugar wait too long, and get too soft before I added everything I was supposed to. I will reattempt soon. I also made this with a vanilla custard and chopped strawberry filling, and topped it with a lemonny meringue icing. The flavors were great but the cake rose about a quarter of an inch. Next time, I will ensure all my ingredients are at the proper temp and properly prepped.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joseph Ashford

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2014
This was very good, the cake was really moist and it had the strawberry flavor I was looking for. I frosted it with a strawberry frosting and made it for guests, and they loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbia, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2014
Today is my husband's 30th! I've never made Strawberry Cake, however, this is his favorite. I tried this recipe and utilized helpful suggestions from previous reviews such as separating the egg yolks and whites, using 3 three pans instead of two, and reducing the sugar. My husband loves the cake; however, I would have to agree with a lot of the other reviews. I would have liked the cake to be a bit more fluffy. It was indeed a tad dense. Oh well, the hubby loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bonita

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2014
I followed the recipe as written, split into 2 9 in round pans and 25 minutes into baking, the cakes where bubbling over the side of the pans and still very soupy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Whitney Svoboda

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 710) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Strawberry Cake from Scratch

This impressive cake is rich with the flavor of real strawberries.

Dirt Cake I

Fool 'em with a fun cake that looks just like a flower pot.

Banana Cake VI

Discover the simple secret to super-moist banana cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States