Strawberry Cake from Scratch Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2013
LOVED IT!! My husband's favorite cake is Strawberry cake and for the longest I have been wanting to make him a strawberry cake from scratch, so when I found this one I wanted to try it. It came out wonderful. NO MORE BOXES FOR ME!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by D_GOODEN
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2013
I made this and it was delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2013
I made this recipe tonight. Love it!!!! The directions were easy to follow. The cake made my house smell yummy. Plus it taste amazing:) Saved this recipe:) I definitly will be making it again. Thank you for sharing it:) Laura
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Guynup

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2013
Great recipes cakes came out nice and fluffy. I however read other reviews that said too much jello was used so I used less and heavy cream instead. Delicious. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2013
Dont know what i did but i hated this cake. It was dry and very dense. Will not try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Braunfels, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sonalikj
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2013
hi, Made this cake yesterday for my friends daughter's 2nd birthday.It came out great.Everybody loved it. I followed the instructions carefully.The Jelly adds the punch to the cake. Could do with a little more of it.IIf this cake had only fresh strawberry puree,then it would not have got the strawberry flavour.I used whipped cream strawberry icing in between the layers and buttercream icing with a little of the strawberry jelly for piping the icing on the cake and it went well with it.I have attached a picture of the cake.Fantastic cake.Will keep making it.Thank you very much for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2013
the major problem for me was the jello, it made the entire cake taste artificial to me. After a couple of days however the taste disappeared. I am still looking for that perfect cake with no jello made from scratch, have not yet found it though....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2013
I own a small baking business and had a client send me this recipe to make for her. I was skeptical because of the jello but did it anyways because it is her favorite. NEVER AGAIN. The cake itself baked nicely in a Wilton shaped pan (again, client request) but then I attempted to make cupcakes out of this batter. What a MESS! They all collapsed, made a huge mess and were a complete bust. I'll go back to my own recipe for cupcakes next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by NathanDC
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2013
I made this cake for our Easter dinner. It turned out terrific. I made the batter exactly as the recipe directs. It looked like a lot of batter for two cake pans, so I put it in three pans, and made a tall, beautiful 3-layer cake. I did my own take on frosting, making a little more than I normally would to accommodate the three layers. I used 1 1/2 sticks butter, 1 package of cream cheese, enough sweetened strawberry puree to give it a pretty pink color and slight strawberry flavor, and enough powdered sugar to give a stiff frosting (probably 5-6 cups). The cake is bright pink, and the light pink frosting is perfect for it. My 86-year old mom wanted a strawberry cake for Easter, and most of them start with white or "strawberry" cake mix, and I try to avoid that for special occasions. So this recipe was a blessing. I like to cook naturally, and wish there was some way to avoid the artificially flavored Jello, but I guess you can't get the intense strawberry flavor without that. Everyone loved the cake. FYI - use cake flour as directed. I made this cake once before (years ago) with all purpose flour and it was too dense. Also, to start, sift the cake flour in a big bowl. Then carefully spoon it in measuring cups to measure 2 3/4 cups. If you measure 2 3/4 cups out of the bag, then follow these sifting/measuring directions, you will find that you originally had a lot more than 2 3/4 cups flour. Again, if you don't do it right, the cake will be too dense.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2013
This is a great recipe. I substituted 3/4 cup of the cake flour for AP flour. I am not a fan of cakes made with all cake flour as it reminds me of a box mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mabelvale, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Malvern, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 734) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Strawberry Cake from Scratch

This impressive cake is rich with the flavor of real strawberries.

Dirt Cake I

Fool 'em with a fun cake that looks just like a flower pot.

Banana Cake VI

Discover the simple secret to super-moist banana cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States