Strawberry Cake and Frosting I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2014
My cake was soooo delicious! I'm only giving it 4 stars because the directions on what to do with the strawberries is so vague and only being a beginner level in cooking I can't say I would've known what to do with them had I not read all the other reviews. Also, I did not use the frosting recipe because I could already tell it would be too sweet for my taste; however I basically used the same ingredients for the frosting just different ratios. I thawed strawberries i previously froze, pureed them, strained them and reduced it about 20 minutes on the stove. I used white cake instead. The color of the cake came out beautiful. I also used the strawberry reduction for the frosting, 1 cup of butter and 3 cups of confectioners sugar with a tsp of vanilla. I will definitely make this cake again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2014
I made this for my husband on his birthday and he loved it! I served it with yoghurt for extra moisture and it was amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2014
This was really, really good. The directions are based on cake, not cupcakes, so adjust baking time as needed. Oh, and I could not get the frosting to the right consistency. I don't know if it was me or the recipe but I kept tweaking it and it still came out runny- perhaps because of the amount of water in the frozen strawberries? Overall, very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ONEBLUEBALLOON
Home Town: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cookie!
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2014
As a general rule, I am not a fan of strawberry cake. This one, however, is fantastic! I made this recipe as cupcakes. I did syrup the cupcakes with strawberry simple syrup since I made them a day ahead. I also made a buttermilk/strawberry buttercream swirl frosting that was perfect with the cake. I highly recommend this recipe to anyone searching for an easy and delicious strawberry cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookie!

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2014
This is delicious but too strawberry. It was too intense for my kids to eat more than a half of a cup-cake. Next time I will make the cake with whip cream for topping or a white cake with the strawberry frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2014
I only made the icing and it was so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
Great recipe. Was moist & you could taste the strawberries. Made it for daughter's birthday, she loved it. Frosted with strawberry cream cheese icing. Definitely will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy Wycoff

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Monroe, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
I made this cake for Thanksgiving my family and I loved it! The flavor was perfect and it smelled delicious. Instead of cupcakes I made a bundt cake, which should be cooked for a hour instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2013
I used only the cake recipe to make strawberry cupcakes, which were really very good, then filled with a lemon curd and iced with lemonade icing for a "Strawberry Lemonade Cupcake" theory. It was amazing, as the original recipe that I had just called for strawberry cake mix ... which has no flavor. With this recipe, the strawberry stood up to the icing, which was key to success. They got rave reviews!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Voluntown, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2013
I made this for a family birthday and was very pleased with how it turned out. I used white cake mix and a 14 oz pkg of frozen strawberries that did not have any type of syrup. The cake was really moist and a very pretty pink color. By itself it did not have much of a strawberry flavor. I baked it in a 13X9 pan. I made 1/2 batch of the frosting, draining the juice from the strawberries. Everyone loved the strawberry flavor off the frosting and the little bits of fruit in it. The consistency was fine to work with for a 13X9 but maybe a little thin to do a layer cake. I would love to try this recipe in a bundt pan and make the frosting thin enough to drizzle down the sides.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 130) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Strawberry Cake from Scratch

This impressive cake is rich with the flavor of real strawberries.

Awesome Carrot Cake with Cream Cheese Frosting

This carrot cake is dense and delicious, a real crowd-pleaser.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States