Strawberry Cake and Frosting I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2003
First off let me say that although this recipe gets rave reviews I was still very shocked at the wonderful flavor never having had a fresh strawberry cake not made from a mix. Which the strawberry cake mixes are just awful. Now on to my review. I am a recent graduate of culinary school in Baking and Pastry So I am used to making icings. However I paid close attention to the hints given for this icing as most said that it was to runny. I actually made this for a cake ordered for a customer who wanted it for a birthday cake. So for the icing I followed the hint and drained the strawberrys I also pureeed them through a thin strainer with an old fashion mashed potato masher. I then drained the puree somewhat on paper towels. This did leave a need for moisture which I filled with a few tbls of both water and strawberry juice. You dont need to drain but I wanted to be able to control the amount of moisture eventually adding a few tbls of milk as well to give it a creamy texture. I believe the recipe calls for 4 3/4 cps of powder sugar. I actually used almost a 2 lb bag. which was a little over 7 cups. With the addition of the liquid it turned out great of course this made a cup or so more icing then needed. I did end up with a flat icing which is what I was looking for. If I would have omited some of the sugar and added a little more milk this would have made a very creamy homestyle frosting. The reason that I focused so much on the icing is because most people said that they coul
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
209 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2005
This is my father-in-laws recipe and we came out to the site to see if people loved it as much as we do. When we saw the issues with the frosting, we realized what we neglected to state in the recipe. We drain most of the juice from the strawberries into the cake, thus not having all that juice in the frosting. This way the frosting is not so runny. Sorry for the mistake... hope you continue to enjoy this. And to the person who said they could just eat the frosting... my brother-in-law does just that with vanilla ice cream. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
180 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2002
This cake gets raves from everyone, especially my kids, even the one who hates strawberries! Best the second day. Everyone is puzzled by the frosting. The trick is to first DRAIN the strawberries in a sieve over a bowl, and SAVE the juice. Use the strawberries as directed; the frosting will not be runny. Add a little cornstarch to the saved strawberry juice, microwave until thickened to a medium gel consistency, then drizzle over the cake and refrigerate. It dresses up the cake! This works in a 9" X 13" pan, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
84 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kim*designer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabeth, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Washington, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2003
This was good.....I was talking to my friend who has a similar recipe. I told her of some people whose frosting came out runny. We concluded that the recipe should be changed to 1/2 STICK of butter....not 1/2 cup. That will make it very runny. We also used 1lb box of powdered sugar. It was pretty thick so just add strawberry juice 1 Tsp at a time to get it the consistancy that you like. Very sweet cake. I made a double layer 9 in round cake....with strawberry glaze in between the layers. On top and around the bottom I made white-chocolate dipped strawberries....it was beautiful and Yummy!!!! Hope this helps on the frosting thing!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2012
Excellent, excellent! And I’m so glad about it since the strawberry cupcakes I made last week were such a bust. What a difference! Everything’s right this time – the texture and crumb is right, the shape is right and, most of all, the flavor is right! They’re delicious! I used a quart bag of whole strawberries I had previously frozen. Once they were thawed I pureed them and measured out 6 ozs. for the cake, which turned out to be a little better than 2/3 cup. The remaining puree I reduced (to concentrate the flavor) in a small saucepan over medium low heat. I used a white cake mix; I like the flavor better than yellow (less cake mix-y tasting for some reason) and I also wanted a truer pink color – didn’t want to try and work around the yellow. I wanted a very distinct strawberry flavor, so I also added in a teaspoon of strawberry extract. I beat the batter TWO minutes, NOT four, following the instructions on the package. I made this as cupcakes, and baked them 21 minutes. For the frosting: 1/2 cup each of butter and hi-ratio shortening, 1/2 tsp. strawberry extract, a pinch of salt, 4 c. powdered sugar and enough of the reduced strawberry puree to achieve the desired consistency for piping, about 4 tablespoons. I beat it on low speed of my stand mixer for 10 minutes. The flavor and consistency reminded me of strawberry ice cream – just delicious. I have to admit I was not expecting to like these cupcakes as much as I did. It was a happy surprise today.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2008
This cake was so moist and delicous!! All i changed was I used fresh strawberies and white cake mix(all I had).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Warwick, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Center Barnstead, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2006
Everyone seemed to enjoy this. Icing was pretty sweet, but still good. I read the authors' notes in the review section and had no trouble with the frosting once I drained the juice into the cake as opposed to putting it in the frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Krista Ferrill Donahue

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Franklin, Indiana, USA
Living In: Vista, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2007
This was a great recipe for strawberry cake! The cake was moist and just the right consistency. I used two 8" pans instead and only increased the cooking time by about 2 mins. Also, I used plain buttercream frosting instead of the strawberry and it was still delicious. I made it for my husband's birthday and he LOVED it! And he's not even big on sweets! A keeper for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2008
I have to be honest---I haven't made the cake yet, but I was looking for a good strawberry frosting, and I've found it! I guess you could say I'm an "old pro" at making frosting--I NEVER use canned---yucky! This frosting is very tasty, and just what I wanted for my cake. Might I suggest to others that, if the frosting is too soft, then add more powdered sugar until you get a tighter consistency---it does not compromise the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2007
I definitely ate it all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ellicott City, Maryland, USA
Living In: Silver Spring, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 133) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Strawberry Cake from Scratch

This impressive cake is rich with the flavor of real strawberries.

Awesome Carrot Cake with Cream Cheese Frosting

This carrot cake is dense and delicious, a real crowd-pleaser.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States