Strawberry Cake and Frosting I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2009
This was really good--I found the poster's daughter's review making a correction to the recipe and I followed that: putting half the strawberries but ALL the juice into the cake. That leaves just half the strawberries for the frosting. I was lazy and this wasn't for any special occasion so I made it in a 9x13 pan. I had to cook it longer to get the center cooked through and that made the ends of the cake not really moist. So I was initially disappointed. But getting beyond the first row of cake, it was outstanding. On the frosting, I started with the butter and strawberries and just two cups of sugar in, it looked like a frosting consistency. I worried that adding more sugar would present an issue with then needing some type of liquid to make a spreading consistency so I stopped at two cups sugar. It was super and there was plenty of it for a 9x13. Definitely will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Megan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Somerville, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Johns Creek, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2009
Let me start out by saying that I am not a baker.... and this recipe was so easy, and delicious. I love that it has a very dense consistency (kinda like a pound cake) Thanks so much for the recipe... I'll use it for years to come!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2008
This cake was awesome so nice and moist the frosting oh my it was so good you could eat it by itself i was very pleas with this cake everyone i gave some to love it thanks alot for this one
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Baskerville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2008
This cake was so moist and delicous!! All i changed was I used fresh strawberies and white cake mix(all I had).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Warwick, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Center Barnstead, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2008
I have made this several times... and I usually have to add more powdered sugar to the frosting... but always a huge hit with all parties involved. This past time my boyfriend made me save the leftover frosting in his refrigerator so he could eat it plain!! Weirdo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by al

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montgomery, Alabama, USA
Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2008
This cake was excellent! I did not measure the powdered sugar, just added until it was the right consistency for spreading. Make sure to let the cakes cool enough before frosting them. Will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2008
Absolutely Awesome!!!!! Made this cake for to take to the office. Everyone raved over how moist and delicious it was. Just the right amount of strawberry flavoring without being overpowering. Apparently, in an effort to make sure the icing was not too runny, I drained the strawberries too much and had to add juice to make it spreadable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2008
I made cupcakes with this recipe, and they were awesome. Everyone at work loved them. My frosting was not runny at all. In fact, I had to add 1tbsp of milk to cream the ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NatalieAnn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Starkville, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2008
The frosting from this recipe paired greatly with the scratch strawberry cake recipe. I used fresh strawberries instead of frozen. Excellent recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2008
I made the cake today and it was very good & moist. I tried another strawberry cake recipe from this site and this one was much better. The only change I made was let the gelatin dissolve with ½ cup water before adding the other ingredient and I used store brought vanilla icing. This recipe is definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 134) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Strawberry Cake from Scratch

This impressive cake is rich with the flavor of real strawberries.

Awesome Carrot Cake with Cream Cheese Frosting

This carrot cake is dense and delicious, a real crowd-pleaser.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States