Strawberry Cake and Frosting I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2011
I made this for my daughter's birthday. The whole family loved it. My granddaughter's thought it was so good they couldn't stay out of it, especially the icing. I will keep this handy for events in the future. Very good. 5 stars!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
Wow (and not in a good way). I like to send my hubby w/ office treats every now & then. This time, I made Vday treats. These were very appropriate due to their pretty pink color, but I'm sorry to say not at all what I expected. My cupcakes didn't turn out at all! I must admit, I'm not the world's best baker, but I'm not a novice one either (I'm in b/t the 2). Not only were my cupcakes SUPER dry (I made 2 dozen cupcakes which I baked at 350 degrees for 20 min. as suggested on back of cake mix box), my frosting was also TOTAL failure! One VERY important note: You MUST soften your butter B4 creaming w/ your sugar & THEN add your berries. I'm not sure why I didn't do this (duh). I got so wrapped up in reading IMFLIPER's directions, I didn't give it a 2nd thought. My frosting was filled w/ lumps that even my powerful KitchenAid couldn't mix. I have 2 more thoughts to share. This recipe calls for a 10 oz. bag of frozen strawberries. It doesn't mention stawberries in syrup (i.e. the sweetened variety in a container that SHOULD be drained). There was no need to drain my berries (there wasn't any juice). I suppose if I allowed my berries to thaw, there may have been "some" juice, but IMFLIPER instructs to use FROZEN berries (?). Second, as is, this frosting is WAAAY too sweet (my gosh)! I couldn't stomach it & have a real sweet tooth! These remind me of cheap, aftificial box muffin mix w/ a sickenly too-sweet frosting. Sorry, IMFLIPER. Your dad's recipe is not for me! :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
The frosting was amazing! However mine was a little runny because I kept adding strawberries to it. But the flavor was incredible and everyone at work loved it. I was not that impressed with the cake, I thought it just tasted like yellow cake, but I may not have used enough strawberries in the mix. Next time I think I will make the frosting on plain white cake. It looks so pretty and pink, it would be perfect for a little girl's birthday.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
This rating is just for the frosting. My boys wanted chocolate cake with strawberry frosting, so I thought I'd give this one a try. Based on some of the other feedback, I thawed the strawberries in a strainer and then used a potato masher (the kids loved helping with that part!). I did use a tiny bit of the liquid, but I'm definitely glad I drained them as it came out just right!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
The cake was great but the icing was too sweet. I added more strawberries and then it was too runny. However still tasted great and my 2 year old loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Con C

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Norway, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2010
The frosting was great but the cake seemed more like a muffin to me. They were good, but not great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Los Lunas, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Blazer
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2010
Followed other reviews and pureed the strawberries in my food processor. Very easy to make. I did not use the frosting on this recipe. I tried the Fluffy White Frosting which almost tastes like a marshmallow frosting and I added a little strawberry extract. Very tasty. Should be made the day before serving, much more flavor the 2nd day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blazer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2010
This is my daughter's favorite cake! I have been making it for years but misplaced my recipe in our move. I find pureeing the berries makes this recipe fail-proof! Much easier than draining all the good juice off! I use 2/3 cup in the cake recipe. The pureed berries works great in the frosting too. Just beat butter until fluffy and add powdered sugar and berries alternately until the frosting is the consistency you want.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MEREDITHRS

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Burlington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2010
The cake would be good plain, or with some whipped topping. The frosting was a bit runny, I added an extra 1/8 cup of powdered sugar and that did thicken it up a bit, but it still wasn't the right consistency for a cake. I also divided this between two cake pans, vs three and baked an extra five miutes. Used a white cake mix. -- I am updating from 4 to 5 stars. After I frosted the cake, I put it in the fridge, and once it was cold, it was soooo good. Next time I will make the frosting, then let it set in the fridge while the cake is cooling so it will thicken some.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: New Brighton, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2010
I used the frosting from this recipe on a simple white cake that I made for my baby girls 9th birthday. I read all the reviews and took notes from all of them mainly on being sure to drain the strawberries and save the juice to add to the frosting as needed. I to mashed the strawberries before adding them.I made a rather large cake so I doubled the recipe. It was SO GOOD.. my daughter and EVERYONE loved that cake& RAVED about the FROSTING. The frosting is SUPER SWEET.. but so fresh smelling and delicious. I have enough frosting left over so I will be making another cake...as well as using this recipe OVER and OVER again...THANK YOU so much for this~
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Octoberslibra

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jackson, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 130) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Strawberry Cake from Scratch

This impressive cake is rich with the flavor of real strawberries.

Awesome Carrot Cake with Cream Cheese Frosting

This carrot cake is dense and delicious, a real crowd-pleaser.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States