Strawberry Cake and Frosting I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2011
i just made the frosting part of this recipe without reading the reviews, so it did end up being pretty runny. to thicken it up, i added some whipped heavy cream (w/vanilla, but no sugar) to the original frosting until it was no longer runny and more "frosting" like. it was SO delicious and my 4 yr old daughter & husband (who usually doesn't like frosting) loved it! :) so even though i probably couldn't have used the original frosting since i didn't drain it first, the end result was great and had a very nice strawberry flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by obilir

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2011
Easy to make. Really moist and delicious. I didn't need the frosting as it tasted very good without it, especially the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2011
This is a rating for the frosting only since I didn't make these cupcakes. The frosting was little runny and I used fresh strawberries but the taste was really good. So next time I'll adjust the strawberry juice and sugar ratio.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA
Living In: Sunnyvale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2011
This was just okay. The frosting is way too sweet. Will probably not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Phyllis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2011
AMAZING! Used freshly picked Oregon strawberries straight off the farm. I am taking them to an Independence Day potluck and I will be surprised if there are any left by the time the fireworks begin. Thank you for such a simple but outstanding recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs Cat

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2011
Recipe seemed promising-NOT! The Jello makes it taste fake, worse than boxed strawberry, not the seemingly fresh fruit bakery taste you dream when "strawberry puree" is a main ingredient. I didn't believe the "taste fake" reviews but it's 100% true. I didn't make the this icing-hate butter-creme icing. The cake is pointless just make the icing. Instead I used Stabilized Whipped Cream Icing-on this website, with berry puree, and another package of berries on top. Tasted Great! The cake (breadth) turned out just fine, need to practice on presentation of icing-tricky-read reviews and add extra sugar. A little practice and jaws will drop in anticipation... My last birthday I bought ,separately to make at home, Walmart bakery white sheet cake, strawberry filling, and a ton whipped icing-added a bottle of imitation strawberry flavoring. $2 and some elbow grease better than the cheapest cake made. Everybody went NUTS! Everybody died and went to heaven, all you need is decent cake-any flavor as long as the icing is pink, and filling/icing with "BITS"/"TASTE" of berry in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2011
This cake was a big success at my daughter's 4th birthday party. The cake part I did exactly what the recipe said. I wasn't sure what I was supposed to do with the frozen strawberries so I popped in the microwave for about 20 seconds to defrost them a little. Then I threw them in the food processor. I didn't know how else to blend them into the cake batter. I had to cook the cake about 38 mins. That is because I used a larger crown cake tin. The frosting worked a little differently. I did not drain the juices since I used the food processor. I wound up using closer to 7 cups of sugar for the frosting. It was pretty sweet so I added a little less than a 1/2 tsp of salt. The cake was really good. Definitely a keeper and worth sharing with others.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2011
The cake is magnificent and extremely moist. I made cupcakes out of the batter. I added the juice from the strawberries once I drained them and in addition added three chopped fresh strawberries. Like many others I had issues with the frosting being to thin even though I drained the strawberries. I used a 2lb bag of powdered sugar and in addition added 8 oz of softened cream cheese. Sweet but very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy Girard

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2011
wow! These are great! I made mini and regular sizes cupcakes for a 1 yr olds bday party and rec'd so many compliments and a handful of new customers wanting me to provide their events with these cupcakes! One guest said their kid didnt like any kind of cake/cupcake but that her daughter loved and ate lots of these! I only had a problem with the icing being too "loose" for piping. I would suggest you add a little of the strawberries at a time until you reach the consistancy you are looking for. Thats the only reason I'm giving this recipe a 4 instead of a 5.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CYNDI12

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kings Mountain, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Mooresboro, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2011
I like adding 5 or 6 MORE strawberries to cut the 'way to sweet' taste of the frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 136) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Strawberry Cake from Scratch

This impressive cake is rich with the flavor of real strawberries.

Awesome Carrot Cake with Cream Cheese Frosting

This carrot cake is dense and delicious, a real crowd-pleaser.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States