Strawberry Cake and Frosting I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2012
This recipe is so good! We are a gluten-free family so we use the gluten-free cake mix and flour. The frosting is wonderful and we use it for a fruit dip!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pamsy10
Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2012
I love the cake and have gotten rave reviews of it! I thought the frosting tasted good but it was very runny (even after draining the strawberries and adding extra powdered sugar) and it didn't look very pretty because of the strawberry seeds. I needed something a little stiffer and more uniform looking for a birthday cake so I used a basic buttercream icing and added a little strawberry extract and I preferred that to the frosting listed here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2012
This recipe is FABULOUS! I've made it both with fresh and frozen strawberries. The fresh batch is in the oven as I type. With the frozen, I put it in the blender and mixed it because the strawberries were frozen. Not thawed, which gave it a thinner, airy texture. The icing I tried with the frozen just did NOT turn out right at all. (it may have been the berries) With the fresh berries, I am hoping that it turns out MUCH better. Also, I'm trying the 3- 9" pans instead of making cupcakes. When I poured the batter into the pans, they were very thin. I hope they rise enough to make an even layer cake. Either way, I'll keep coming back to this recipe! It's just too good not to!! ;) Thanks so much for sharing this recipe! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michell Chanley
Home Town: Logansport, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2012
This cake was awesome; however, I didn't care for the frosting. It wasn't too runny, it just didn't have that strawberry taste, even though I added the read strawberries. I guess it was the sugar. I will for sure make the cake again, just with different frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by keysgetaway

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Key Largo, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2012
I only made the icing so I can't speak for the cake, but it turned out well. I found it very sweet, but I was making it for my husband who has a major sweet tooth so he really enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2012
Excellent, excellent! And I’m so glad about it since the strawberry cupcakes I made last week were such a bust. What a difference! Everything’s right this time – the texture and crumb is right, the shape is right and, most of all, the flavor is right! They’re delicious! I used a quart bag of whole strawberries I had previously frozen. Once they were thawed I pureed them and measured out 6 ozs. for the cake, which turned out to be a little better than 2/3 cup. The remaining puree I reduced (to concentrate the flavor) in a small saucepan over medium low heat. I used a white cake mix; I like the flavor better than yellow (less cake mix-y tasting for some reason) and I also wanted a truer pink color – didn’t want to try and work around the yellow. I wanted a very distinct strawberry flavor, so I also added in a teaspoon of strawberry extract. I beat the batter TWO minutes, NOT four, following the instructions on the package. I made this as cupcakes, and baked them 21 minutes. For the frosting: 1/2 cup each of butter and hi-ratio shortening, 1/2 tsp. strawberry extract, a pinch of salt, 4 c. powdered sugar and enough of the reduced strawberry puree to achieve the desired consistency for piping, about 4 tablespoons. I beat it on low speed of my stand mixer for 10 minutes. The flavor and consistency reminded me of strawberry ice cream – just delicious. I have to admit I was not expecting to like these cupcakes as much as I did. It was a happy surprise today.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2011
Super yummy & moist! I made these for a fundraiser at my husbands work and they went FAST!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jodi668

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
Great recipe. Cupcakes were moist and baked in just under 20 minutes. Next time, I'll probably add more strawberries to the cake batter. I used a little more than 1/2 of a small tub of sliced strawberries and drained most of the syrup they were packed in...I didn't want them to turn out too sweet. To offset the sweetness of the frosting, I added the zest of a lemon and it turned out DELICIOUS. Thanks for the recipe, Imfliper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2011
This cake was good but not quite as strawberry tasting as I had hoped. I have made it twice. Second go around - added two layers of fresh sliced strawberries resting on a thin layer of frosting. The fresh strawberries helped me get more of the strawberry flavor that I was hoping to find. :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by seattlejoanie
Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2011
I just used the frosting recipe for cupcakes I was making and the frosting is really DIVINE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 136) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Strawberry Cake from Scratch

This impressive cake is rich with the flavor of real strawberries.

Awesome Carrot Cake with Cream Cheese Frosting

This carrot cake is dense and delicious, a real crowd-pleaser.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States