Strawberry Cake and Frosting I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2013
I liked the recipe and baked about 15 cupcakes and a small cake for my son's birthday. The icing was too runny, but it tasted really good as he loves strawberries a lot. The yellow cake mix was a moist cake, so that helped with the moistness of it overall. I refrigerated the cupcakes to keep the icing from melting more and it was very sweet. I started to use fresh strawberries but the batch I bought were not that sweet so I used frozen instead, but I wish I had thawed them first as it was difficult to blend them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen Minors

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Washington, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2013
These were amazing. Made them the night before the party and they were perfect, followed the suggestions for the frosting and it was excellent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Paula
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2013
This has been my strawberry cake recipe for many years. The smaller box of cake mix (16.5 oz) didn't seem to make a difference unless it was that the three layers were very thin. (I usually make just 2) Since they don't sell 10 oz. of frozen sweetened strawberries anymore, I bought 16 oz. and weighed out 5 oz. of strawberries and juice for the cake batter. Then I drained the remainder very well, reserving the juice. I added all the left-over strawberries to the frosting and added a little juice at a time alternately with the confectioner's sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Olive Branch, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2013
I only used the icing recipe on this, as I used the strawberry cake from scratch recipe for the cake. Delicious. I used this to ice cupcakes, I made 24cupcakes and there was plenty of icing left over
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2012
This recipe is so good! We are a gluten-free family so we use the gluten-free cake mix and flour. The frosting is wonderful and we use it for a fruit dip!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pamsy10
Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2012
I love the cake and have gotten rave reviews of it! I thought the frosting tasted good but it was very runny (even after draining the strawberries and adding extra powdered sugar) and it didn't look very pretty because of the strawberry seeds. I needed something a little stiffer and more uniform looking for a birthday cake so I used a basic buttercream icing and added a little strawberry extract and I preferred that to the frosting listed here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2012
This recipe is FABULOUS! I've made it both with fresh and frozen strawberries. The fresh batch is in the oven as I type. With the frozen, I put it in the blender and mixed it because the strawberries were frozen. Not thawed, which gave it a thinner, airy texture. The icing I tried with the frozen just did NOT turn out right at all. (it may have been the berries) With the fresh berries, I am hoping that it turns out MUCH better. Also, I'm trying the 3- 9" pans instead of making cupcakes. When I poured the batter into the pans, they were very thin. I hope they rise enough to make an even layer cake. Either way, I'll keep coming back to this recipe! It's just too good not to!! ;) Thanks so much for sharing this recipe! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michell Chanley
Home Town: Logansport, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2012
This cake was awesome; however, I didn't care for the frosting. It wasn't too runny, it just didn't have that strawberry taste, even though I added the read strawberries. I guess it was the sugar. I will for sure make the cake again, just with different frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by keysgetaway

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Key Largo, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2012
I only made the icing so I can't speak for the cake, but it turned out well. I found it very sweet, but I was making it for my husband who has a major sweet tooth so he really enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2012
Excellent, excellent! And I’m so glad about it since the strawberry cupcakes I made last week were such a bust. What a difference! Everything’s right this time – the texture and crumb is right, the shape is right and, most of all, the flavor is right! They’re delicious! I used a quart bag of whole strawberries I had previously frozen. Once they were thawed I pureed them and measured out 6 ozs. for the cake, which turned out to be a little better than 2/3 cup. The remaining puree I reduced (to concentrate the flavor) in a small saucepan over medium low heat. I used a white cake mix; I like the flavor better than yellow (less cake mix-y tasting for some reason) and I also wanted a truer pink color – didn’t want to try and work around the yellow. I wanted a very distinct strawberry flavor, so I also added in a teaspoon of strawberry extract. I beat the batter TWO minutes, NOT four, following the instructions on the package. I made this as cupcakes, and baked them 21 minutes. For the frosting: 1/2 cup each of butter and hi-ratio shortening, 1/2 tsp. strawberry extract, a pinch of salt, 4 c. powdered sugar and enough of the reduced strawberry puree to achieve the desired consistency for piping, about 4 tablespoons. I beat it on low speed of my stand mixer for 10 minutes. The flavor and consistency reminded me of strawberry ice cream – just delicious. I have to admit I was not expecting to like these cupcakes as much as I did. It was a happy surprise today.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 130) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Strawberry Cake from Scratch

This impressive cake is rich with the flavor of real strawberries.

Awesome Carrot Cake with Cream Cheese Frosting

This carrot cake is dense and delicious, a real crowd-pleaser.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States