Strawberry Cake and Frosting I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2015
Did not work out for me, had a very odd texture and taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by the4taals

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Owen Sound, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2015
I did use fresh strawberries and the frosting was a bit loose but oh my gosh the taste was phenomenal, one of the best cakes I've ever made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cabool, Missouri, USA
Photo by boonjetta83
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2015
Followed it exactly, except added two packages of strawberry jell-o for exta berry taste. It's good, I like it and will serve it to others, however,it's not as fresh and moist as most similar cakes are. Still glad I tried it, but will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2015
Didn't like it I would put like 4 package of jello. The frosting did not get thick
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2015
I used a white funfetti cake mix instead of yellow. I made a 9x13 cake instead of round cake pans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2014
5 stars for flavor & simplicity! The only thing I needed to change was to adjust the cooking time. I made one thick 9 inch cake instead of 2 layers. So it cooked closer 40 minutes & I made sure the cake springs back when touched. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2014
My cake was soooo delicious! The directions on what to do with the strawberries was not detailed enough and only being a beginner level in cooking I can't say I would've known what to do with them had I not read other reviews. I did not use the frosting recipe because I could already tell it would be too sweet for my taste; however I basically used the same ingredients for the frosting just different ratios. I thawed strawberries, pureed them, strained them and reduced it about 20 minutes on the stove. I used white cake instead. The color of the cake came out beautiful. I also used the strawberry reduction for the frosting, 1 cup of butter and 3 cups of confectioners sugar with a tsp of vanilla. I will definitely make this cake again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2014
I made this for my husband on his birthday and he loved it! I served it with yoghurt for extra moisture and it was amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2014
This was really, really good. The directions are based on cake, not cupcakes, so adjust baking time as needed. Oh, and I could not get the frosting to the right consistency. I don't know if it was me or the recipe but I kept tweaking it and it still came out runny- perhaps because of the amount of water in the frozen strawberries? Overall, very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ONEBLUEBALLOON
Home Town: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cookie!
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2014
As a general rule, I am not a fan of strawberry cake. This one, however, is fantastic! I made this recipe as cupcakes. I did syrup the cupcakes with strawberry simple syrup since I made them a day ahead. I also made a buttermilk/strawberry buttercream swirl frosting that was perfect with the cake. I highly recommend this recipe to anyone searching for an easy and delicious strawberry cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookie!

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 136) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Strawberry Cake from Scratch

This impressive cake is rich with the flavor of real strawberries.

Awesome Carrot Cake with Cream Cheese Frosting

This carrot cake is dense and delicious, a real crowd-pleaser.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States