Strawberry Brownies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2013
Excellent brownies! My first experience with strawberry brownies - will make again. I did purée all of the berries, although added a layer of sliced berries on bottom thinking it would look nice inverted - bad idea. The bottom was just soggy. Lesson learned. I also added some mini semisweet chocolate chips which was a better idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minot, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2013
Followed the recipe exactly. It tasted like cocoa powder with a cloying aftertaste of strawberries. Will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2013
I like the idea of adding strawberry puree to brownie batter, but as a brownie recipe, mine came out more like chocolate cake than a true brownie, even after I added dark chocolate plus the cocoa powder. I'll probably try the idea again, but will find another brownie recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2012
Very moist and Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brenda Crane

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
I followed the recipe exactly as stated, only adding about a 1/4 cup of chocolate syrup to the mix.. came out amazing. crispy on top, soft and moist underneath with bits of sweet strawberry. As a side note, i had to cook mine for close to 43 mins to get it to the right consistency using an 8x8 square glass pan
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SarahLaGuera

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Venice, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2011
Unappealing texture and a very underwhelming taste! The idea is good but I think it would be better executed using a traditional brownie recipe with fresh strawberries folded in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2011
I followed the recipe EXACTLY. They were NOT good. All apologies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2010
I was looking for a recipe to use those strawberries that still have a little life but not much more -- these were interesting but not something I'd make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hauppauge, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2010
I love the idea of Strawberry brownies, and I took the advice of others and pureed the strawberries. I always try the batter before I make anything, and it was really tasty. Although when the finished product came out of the oven, I found they tasted too much like coco powder and not enough like chocolate, even after using chocolate chips. Will try again but with semi-sweet baking chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by robyn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2010
Delicious! I didn't read the reviews until after I had them in the oven, and was slightly unnerved after reading how so many people pureed all of the strawberries or didn't like the texture with whole sliced strawberries. I treated the strawberries exactly how the recipe intends and I am in LOVE with this dessert. I love the slightly strawberry taste of the brownies themselves, and the chunks of sliced strawberries are a fabulous addition. I did use a box of brownie mix, though, because I was out of cocoa powder. I followed the "fudge-like" recipe on the box, minus the water. (so 2 eggs and oil. the strawberry purree essentially replaced the water) The brownie mix I used was verrrry chocolately, which was wonderful, so if making from scratch I would recommend a strong chocolate taste (since I didn't use this brownie recipe, I can't many any suggestions in this regard). I liked baking in a pie dish as well because of the thickness (so 8x8 square pan would also work well, but I would definitely not recommend a 9x13 pan.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Brooke's Best Bombshell Brownies

See how to make rich, fudgy brownies that are truly the bomb.

Mmm-Mmm Better Brownies

See how to make a brownie even better!

Best Brownies

Moist and fudgy, these 5-star brownies are deliciously decadent.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States