Strawberry Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2015
Definitely double the strawberries. I also used less cinnamon (not a full TBSp)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2015
Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2015
This is an excellent recipe. I bought a huge tub of organic strawberries and needed to find something to do with them before it was too late. Who knew there was such a thing as strawberry bread?! I have no sweet tooth and don't like to add sugar unless I absolutely have to since fruit is sweet on its own. Reading reviews, I made 2 loaves of this wonderful bread using 4 cups of strawberries (1 cup puréed & 1 cup thickly sliced), only 3/4 cup oil, only 1 cup sugar, added 1 teaspoon vanilla, and only 1/2 T cinnamon. I did not sprinkle the strawberries with sugar before adding them to the batter. The bread is wonderful with pecans & strawberries throughout! Next time I will use the whole tablespoon of cinnamon. Cutting it back tastes great, but I do live cinnamon. I will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Uniontown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: The Plains, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2015
I didn't read reviews before making the bread, so I followed the exact recipe. My baking times may be different and my result may have been altered due to high elevation. I found it to have too much cinnamon, that was the "star" of this bread. It tasted like gingersnaps and the texture was dense, not fluffy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie Blagg

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DinaLaChef
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2015
Wonderful fruit bread! It made the house smell heavenly, and I made it for my fiancée as a welcome back from a trip. I cut the serving size to 12 and made it in a tube pan; it turned out to be a lovely looking, medium sized bundt sweet. Substitutions to make it a healthier bread were applesauce for oil; 1 cup whole wheat flour with 1/2 cup white flour, and 1 cup brown sugar with 1/2 cup white sugar. I buttered, floured, and lightly applied cooking spray to the bundt pan, and baked the bread for 35 minutes at 350 degrees. After it was done, I waited about ten minutes before dusting the top with confectioner's sugar. When the bread is this temperature (warm and beginning to cool) some of the sugar seeps in giving some sweetness to the top, but it's cooling enough where some of the sugar stays in solid form and keeps the pretty sugar dusting look. I will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DinaLaChef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Photo by Keri Bensley
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2015
This bread is delicious. I did make a few modifications based on other reviews. I used 3/4 cup of coconut oil instead of vegetable, and 4 cups of strawberries. Also added 1 tsp of vanilla, and avoided "blending" the strawberries. After I let them sit with the sugar for about 15 minutes, I mashed them lightly with my potato masher and then added the other ingredients. I didn't put the pecans in the batter, but sprinkled salted maple pecans on the top of one loaf before putting it in the oven. Absolutely delicious. Loved the one with the pecans more than the one without!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Keri Bensley

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2015
Have to agree with some of the others..the strawberry taste was not as predominant as I'd like. Also agree that the cinnamon should be reduced and the strawberries increased. I added pecans to mine and it was what saved it. But I like a lighter cake and would not make this again. ):
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2015
I substituted brown sugar for the white sugar, and used oiled parchment paper to line my loaf tins (I find that they come out much easier this way). Overall a very good bread which I will be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2015
This was delicious! I replaced most of the oil with applesauce and pureed strawberries and it turned out so moist. Husband ate two slices and finished the loaf by the next day! So glad the recipe yields two loafs. Sliced the second loaf and froze in plastic wrap, defrost in the microwave for 40 seconds. So yummy for breakfast with some lemon curd. Will definitely be in my usual rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2015
I halved the recipe. It took more than an hour before it was done. When I tried to get the bread out of the loaf pan it crumbled in half. My husband said it tasted good even though we had to eat it in broken pieces. If I make this again, I will cut back on the cinnamon and slice my strawberries smaller.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bobbijean

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairmont, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 754) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Strawberry Bread

A delicious bread made with fresh strawberries.

Janet's Rich Banana Bread

See how to make super-moist banana bread with concentrated banana flavor.

The Best Banana Bread

Here’s a versatile banana bread for banana bread purists.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States