Strawberry Bread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2002
Yeeech! Awful. You cannot tell it's strawberry bread. The strawberries that you mix in cease to exist when it's done and all you're left with is heavy bread with a lot of nuts in it. Don't make it, you'll regret it. I threw it away after a slice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2001
I really love this recipe, I even like to mix it up with some mixed berries also. The only thing I would suggest is to use two loaf pans instead of one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2000
This bread was absolutely wonderful! A HUGE hit with the family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2004
This is the same recipe that I have used for more than 15 years. It is great for a tea or brunch served with strawberry butter (strawberry jam, butter and a dot of lemon juice mixed together). I left the pecans out this time to make it more "kid friendly" for my children who despise nuts. Also, I used whole strawberries instead of sliced and tried to chop them up after I added them to the batter. Big problem there -- it also effected the baking so only used sliced or crushed strawberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2008
This is almost identical to a recipe I make and love, so I will post my differences here: 1TBS of cinn instead of tsp, 1c of oil instead of 1 1/4, and 2 packages of strawberries instead of 1. Definitely put in two pans! I don't thaw the berries, then I chop them while frozen, then coat them in a spoonful of flour (removed from the recipe, not extra). This way they remain buoyant. Also, a healthy version is as such: 1c sugar, 2 eggs/2 egg whites, and replace half oil with applesauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2000
This recipemakes a HUGE tasty and moist loaf. I will be sure to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2002
i don't care for the taste of this bread but a dear friend,loves this bread and i make it for him whenver he asks. i make sure to chop the strawberries so i don't have large lumps at the bottom of the loaf and i make in 2 disposable loaf pans, regular size. this freezes well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2000
This bread was very moist, tasty as well as something a little different and out of the ordinary. Will definitely keep this recipe on hand!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brea, California, USA
Living In: Linz, Oberösterreich, Austria

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2001
I didn't like this bread at all, I do not recommend it =-(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2000
I had a case of strawberries and I wanted to try something new. It was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Strawberry Bread

A delicious bread made with fresh strawberries.

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

Poppy Seed Bread with Glaze

See how to make a sweet poppy-seed bread with almond and orange flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States