Strawberry Bread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 10, 2014
Moist and delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2013
This bread batter was very very oily,too much oil and the sugar (2 cups) is just too much sugar but I followed the recipe exact and could not believe the thick oily batter,in the oven now don't know if they will turn out. Is everybody's batter when following it to the tee oily? I'm not a beginner by any means so I'm disappointed in what I put into the pans. We will see. I have read many reviews on doing different ingredients but when following it as written has anyone had this problem? Please advise......
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bakerbee

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2012
This was really good and super easy. My husband love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blueeyes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: May 29, 2012
I doubled this recipe and used sugared sliced strawberries so I cut the amount of sugar to less than three cups. Some I did not add the nuts in case someone has a nut allergy in their home. I had lots of compliments.....I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Magyar

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2012
I made this last night for my husbands co-workers and he called me to say that they are loving it. Like many of the comments suggest, I increased the cinnamon to 1 tablespoon. This recipe fits perfectly in my standard size Bundt pan. I spray it well with pan spray and sprinkle it with sugar to give the exterior an extra crunch. I also always toast the nuts before I put them in. Once it is cooled, I slice it and then put a bowl or stemware glass in the center to hold some whipped cream cheese (usually with some fresh diced strawberries stirred in). YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patty

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2011
I LOVE this bread. One thing I dont get (and please explain to me if u can, as I am not much of a baker to begin with) but the 1 hour baking time is nearly not even close to how much time my loaf needs to bake... what am I doing wrong?? The recipe makes enough for 2 loaves, so obviously Im not fitting too much into one load pan.. or am I?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
I have to give this only 3 stars because it didn't turn out right for me. I made it exactly as written; I used mostly sunflower oil for the "vegetable oil", but finished that bottle and used a little soybean oil for the rest. Also, I've couldn't find a 10-ounce package of strawberries, but measured it out from a 1-lb. package I had. Like several other baking recipes, this turned out very runny inside (I live at a high elevation). At the 1 hour mark, the dish visibly sloshed when I went to test it; at 1:10, the top was pretty well done, but the tester showed that the insides were still pretty wet. I was worried about the dish half-burning, so I took it out at that point. I cut the very-well-done end piece off, and the goopy innards ran out. I then let the remaining "bread" bake in the cooling oven. I will say that the taste of the ingredients was very nice; I had been skeptical about strawberries mixed with pecans. If I could find out how to adjust this to get the texture right, I might bump my rating up to 4 or maybe even 5 stars. After refrigeration, when I reheated the leftovers briefly in the microwave, the "bread" had firmed up a bit, and now had more like a gooey interior, and was more like a cake than a bread, for sure. I did enjoy the rest of the dish; I just wish that it had turned out much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2010
i used whole wheat flour and fresh strawberries the first time i made it and it was really good....i've got it baking in the oven again but this time i used 2/3 wheat flour, 1/3 AP flour and made a second loaf with frozen peaches and added vanilla.....YUM!....i'm taking it for my daughter's first day of preschool for snack!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2009
when I made this bread, it overflowed my 9" x 5" pan; plus I baked it for 80 minutes and it still was not done in the center. However the part of the bread that was done and I tasted, was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2009
Make some changes and you've got yourself a real winner. As is, it's so-so. Changes: Use frozen strawberries, 1 1/4 lbs. Allow the strawberries to thaw until mushy (Watch out, the bags tend to leak) and retain the juices. Smoosh or chop the strawberries into smaller pieces. Add smooshed strawberries AND juices and then mix as directed. Pour into two loaf pans; the recipe with the added goo really peaks if you put it in a square pan. With these corrections, it's a 5-star, really strawberry-ish strawberry bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Strawberry Bread

A delicious bread made with fresh strawberries.

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

Poppy Seed Bread with Glaze

See how to make a sweet poppy-seed bread with almond and orange flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States