Strawberry Banana Protein Smoothie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2011
I gotta tell ya, this much fruit is overkill. Try this instead, 1/2 cup 2%milk, 1/2 cup water, 5-6 ice cubes, 1/2 a banana, and 3-4 whole strawberries and one scoop of Vanilla flavored protein powder. I use the vanilla whey protein from walmart called Body Fortress. This is delicious, I blend it for about a minute or two then poor it into a big cup with about 6 cubes of ice in it and a lid and just shake it around every couple minutes while sipping it after a heavy workout. Its light delicious and feels like a reward for a great workout, this felt just a bit too fruity for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GregWmson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2011
Perfect, yummy, and easy. This is a recipe my kids can help with and they love the taste. I omit the protein powder and we don't even notice. I've made a couple of changes such as using up to 20 or so almonds and using soy milk (even chocolate soy milk) instead of water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
Very good! I used a 1/2 banana, 1 cup strawberries, 4 tablespoons of vanilla protein powder (which equaled 1 full scoop) and increased the water to 6 tablespoons to make it a bit thinner and easier on my blender. I was looking for a good protein recipe I could use for breakfast and yielded just 1 serving, this was exactly what I was looking for. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
91 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2011
Maybe I'm on another planet, but I thought this was terrible. I used frozen strawberries instead of ice but that was the only change I made...until it would not blend, then added 1/4c milk. It tasted passable at first, gooey though, but it was enough to give me a stomach ache halfway through. If this had been my first protein shake I would have been turned off of them forever. I'll never make it again. I think I'll stick to my peanut butter for protein in the strawberry banana mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Oakley, California, USA
Living In: Tracy, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
This is a great smoothie recipe! We like it better than the smoothie shop smoothies! I had to change the recipe because my hand blender could not handle the ingredients with so little liquid, but not because the recipe itself. I used vanilla soy milk and no protein powder, just to avoid overloading my blender. My blender crushed ice fine but I guess whole frozen strawberries are too much- unless I add more liquid or add strawberries one at a time to the other blended ingredients. I may be getting a new blender for this recipe. But the recipe is great. The flavor is great and I love that it is not just a sugar drink, it has protein and the whole almonds add great nutritional value, too. Who needs to pay extra for a supplement when you can drink your own "whole foods". Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2010
I'm doing the flat belly diet so this is a PERFECT recipe for breakfast for me! Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CC♥'s2bake
Reviewed: May 20, 2010
Perfect! All around great combination for a protein smoothie. Everything about this one works; flavor, texture and purpose. Thanks for a great recipe. I'll use this one a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful
Photo by Scotdog
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2010
Yum, I really liked this. I used skim milk in place of the water. I was nervous that I'd have chunks of almonds, but my blender did a pretty good job. I only had plain protein powder so I added cinnamon, a touch of vanilla & some ground flax. Good stuff, and a great way to start the day. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scotdog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2010
This was great!! I followed the directions exactly except I used vanilla powder rather than chocolate. It tastes great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Krista

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Litchfield, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Beacon Falls, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2010
Wonderful!! My wife and I loved it. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Strawberry Oatmeal Breakfast Smoothie

See how to make a rich and creamy fruit smoothie with no dairy.

B and L's Strawberry Smoothie

Fresh berries, skim milk, plain yogurt, and vanilla make a 5-star smoothie.

Green Power Mojito Smoothie

See how to make an energy boosting smoothie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States