Strawberry Angels' Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by bizzy63
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2011
I made this cake with some modifications and it was a huge delicious hit! First: I just used a white cake mix baked in a bundt pan (for about 36 minutes). I used 1 cup heavy whipping cream with both strawberries and blackberries macerated in some splenda (what I had on hand) for the filling (with cocoa/confectioners' sugar as called for). To frost, I used 8 oz of cool whip mixed with a tablespoon of vanilla and topped with my remaining macerated fruit. DELISH!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bizzy63
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2011
Yummmmmmy! Thanks for the recipe. Perfect birthday cake, it was light and delish, everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
I thought long and hard about the special dessert I should make for a multiple family birthday celebration. Taking into account individual tastes ranging from a two-year-old and spanning three generations, this cake could not have been more perfect. As I watched my granddaughter dip her finger into the yummy whipped cream frosting and ultimately shove the angel food cake into her mouth at the same time I doled out a second helping to her granddad, I knew I had made the right choice. I wouldn't change anything about this cake, except I think I might use blueberries in the filling just as a surprise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PartTimeCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pennington, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2010
This was really good and super simple with a store-bought cake. I think a homemade one would have presented better but I didn't have the time. I concur that the light chocolate flavor is decadent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cupertino, California, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2009
This was a great cake. My daughter loved this for her birthday cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by armywife892

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kent, Ohio, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2009
HUGE hit at work!!! So easy to make...very light tasting..and fresh Michigan strawberries are just right for picking now...PERFECT!!!I also drizzled little bit of strawberry glaze over top!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2008
I put in 4 tablespoons cocoa and sugar, and when I made the "tunnel" I took the cake pieces, crumbled them, and put them in the filling. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2007
This was delicious. Here's a variation..something a bit different; Alternate pieces of angel food cake and sliced strawberries on skewers and serve with dip such as whipped creme and/or chocolate. People jump on these at my parties!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lake Lure, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2006
I added a little brandy to the cream for the adults! Big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Celeste
Reviewed: May 26, 2006
I took out the cocoa, and added a little vanilla to my whipping cream instead. I also just put my strawberries, which I sliced, on top instead of folding them in to the whipping cream. I also added some blueberries for color on the outside of the cake. Looked and tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Strawberry Cake from Scratch

This impressive cake is rich with the flavor of real strawberries.

Buttermilk Strawberry Shortcake

See how to make strawberry shortcake with airy buttermilk biscuits.

Pineapple Angel Food Cake I

This impressive pineapple angel food cake is impossibly easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States