Strawberry Angel Food Dessert Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2013
I have made this recipe twice so far, including once for a cookout. It lasted 20min once it was put out for guests. I used the suggestions from other reviews. I used pie filling instead of glaze, and I also added vanilla to whip cream topping. I got rave reviews for this desert and many guests requested the recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2013
I made this recipe yesterday for my card group. Everyone had a piece. Everyone took a piece home and several wanted a copy of the recipe. I had one little piece and it wasn't enough. There is none left and it was fabulous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2013
This has been the most requested dessert I have ever made! People LOVE this dessert; and it's so simple to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2013
This was fantastic as is, but also a geat recipe to experiment with different fruits and pie fillings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by penni73

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2013
It was ok. I didn't care for the glaze. I also had an angel food cake that I think was too big. I would try it again but on the advice from other people to make my own glaze or try strawberry pie filling. My mistake was the glaze was sugar-free and it had an after taste to me but others didn't think so. I think the next time I would layer it more such as a trifle and maybe more berries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2013
My family loves this recipe so much that they ask me to make it at every family function. It's easy to make too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2013
I was expecting something more like strawberry shortcake, but the stickiness of the glaze made it less palatable. Even my school age kids who love strawberries did not really enjoy it. The cream cheese layer is just a little too thick and creamy and thick thick glaze didn't help. Lot of leftovers. I suppose with less glaze and more strawberries it would be better? Not likely to try it again without trying a few modifications to the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2013
Great receipe! I made this one 4th of July at boyfriend's family's house and everyone loved it! Asked to make it again for functions. I substituted the angel cake for store brought shortbread cake and it worked great! Quick and easy to make on the go.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
Always a favorite at summer parties. I'm not a huge fan of strawberry glaze so I use Smucker's Sundae Syrup instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2013
I've tried this recipe twice and got great reviews. The second time making it I substituted agave syrup for the sugar in the cream cheese mixture. I had to make my own glaze with a store bought powder mix. Once the glaze began to simmer I added some agave syrup along with Summer berry fruit dip mix (crystals) from epicure to the mixture and threw in some strawberries. I let it simmer until it thickened- came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 570) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Strawberry Angel Food Dessert

Layered dessert with angel food cake, cream cheese, and strawberries.

Pineapple Angel Food Cake I

This impressive pineapple angel food cake is impossibly easy.

How to Make Angel Food Cake

Watch how to make this decadent-tasting but actually fat-free cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States