Strawberry Angel Food Dessert Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: May 14, 2011
Great recipe for strawberry season! Instead of using a store bought glaze, I used a pint of strawberries, 2/3 c Splenda, 1 tbsp vanilla and cooked it down. Also, to make it a little more waist friendly, I used 1 LG pack of sugar free, jell-o cheesecake pudding w/ 3 cups skim milk and mixed in a container of sugar free cool whip, in lieu of the cream cheese and sugar. My son and husband LOVE this! And, the strawberry farm knows me by name...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CookieTosser
Reviewed: May 10, 2011
Delicious! I kept the ingredient portions the same, but I made my own strawberry glaze and used the recipe for Heavenly Angel Food Cake since I like making things homemade as much as possible. Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2011
Perfect summer dessert. I use light cool whip, only one low fat cream cheese, and enough glaze to coat but not drown the strawberries. This makes quite a bit and I am always looking forward to the leftovers but there never are any. I brought this to a potluck with lots of deserts and this went first and was the only desert completely gone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
Make it the day before serving. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sharon22465

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
Delicious. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2011
This recipe is amazing! I made it for "snack" at a lunch meeting, and everyone was asking for the recipe. My changes: *I made my own glaze as suggested by several other reviewers: 1 qt. Sliced berries, 1 cup sugar, 3 Tb cornstarch, and 1 Tb lime juice, cook 5 minutes, only I used the juice of the whole lime (prob more like 2 Tbsp). *Used low fat cream cheese and cool whip - this is so delicious you can't tell the difference. *Zested the lime into the cream cheese mixture. It really added tons of flavor. And i definitely agree that this needs to be layered into a large clear bowl or something similar. Very pretty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Monroe, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Bellingham, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2011
Didn't follow the recipe exactly, but it still came out great!! For the glaze, I used strawberry pie filling, watered it down a bit and added some sugar. And I used the shortcake cups instead of angel food. I think the angel food would have been better, but I still loved this recipe. The whipped/cream cheese topping is not too sweet and compliments the strawberries. Mmmm! Will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: East Longmeadow, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2011
I've been making this dessert for years, but I prepare it in individual short stemmed wine glasses for a touch of elegance. It's also great for pot lucks when you use disposable plastic wine glasses. To cut expense, eliminate the cream cheese and use sweetened whipped cream only in the layers of cake and berries. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2011
This was so easy and delicious. I have made it exactly as written, but one time I layered it in a 9x13 pan with pound cake slices instead (it was what I had on-hand). YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2011
Absolutely loved this recipe! I used Smucker's Strawberry topping with the strawberries instead of the glaze. LOVED IT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 548) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pineapple Angel Food Cake I

This impressive pineapple angel food cake is impossibly easy.

How to Make Angel Food Cake

Watch how to make this decadent-tasting but actually fat-free cake.

Strawberry Angel Cookies

See how to make moist, fruity strawberry cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States